Blush logo

Luxurious Hair, Anyone?

Pamper those locks with two ingredients

By Madeline DochertyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2
Luxurious Hair, Anyone?
Photo by Ayo Ogunseinde on Unsplash

You’re sitting there in a meeting, or you're watching TV. Maybe you are talking to your crush... and you cannot stop scratching your head. The dreaded dandruff monster with his itchy cousin have invaded, and your pretty little head is on fire. You go to your handy Head and Shoulders, or your trusted shampoo brand that promises to get rid of that dandruff and itch right away. For a moment you feel like it’s all good, but not long after you use the product, you’re back to where you started.

Isn’t it frustrating?

Our hair can make or deflate an entire look. It is essential to the way we perceive people, and how we view ourselves. To quote the show Fleabag, "we wish hair wasn’t everything, but it is!" When we have hair that feels unhealthy, or scalp that is itchy, it is very difficult to step confidently into any space.

I know this because I live in a very dry climate. The winters are harsh, and last more than half the year. This weekend we got a winter storm that has left us with several snow days! You may be feeling like your scalp also looks like a winter storm has swept through it. However, I’m not here to judge your dandruff, or how much you itch your head. I know it can be troublesome and makes most people feel self conscious.

My front yard: Saskatchewan winter

Needless to say, my scalp gets very dry and itchy, especially in these winter months. I searched for and tried different hair products to help me, but I had no luck. I literally and figuratively was scratching my head over this.

Upon searching natural, do it yourself hair masks… I found the holy grail. And it is only two ingredients: very ripe bananas and coconut oil. That’s it folks! So, if you’re short on funds, and short on groceries, there is a pretty good chance these two things are hanging out in your kitchen.

Depending on the length and thickness of your hair you will need one to three ripe bananas. I’m talking you can use the bananas in your freezer that have been there for so long you are actually afraid to use them for banana bread. Just make sure to thaw them out before blending, or else it will cause the coconut oil to clump up. You can also use browned bananas that have not been frozen.

You will want a ratio of about one tablespoon of coconut oil to one banana. If you end up with extra, no big deal, put it in your fridge! It will keep for two to three weeks. I haven’t left it in the fridge for longer, but you could try your luck.

Simple ingredients for the hair mask

You must blend these two ingredients, and I mean blend! One time I didn’t take this seriously enough and I was picking small pieces of banana out of my hair for DAYS. I urge you to learn from my mistakes!

A magic bullet, or a regular blender works. You could also try one of those pulse things that people use to puree soup. Anything that blends something very well.

If your mixture is too thick or not blending well, you can add a tablespoon or two of water to thin it out. It should be thick enough to be a paste, but not too thick that you are still seeing banana chunks. Again, learn from my mistakes, I don’t want you to hate this hair mask because it has not been blended enough.

Blend Well .

Be Happy .

So, now you’ve got your paste. It’s looking good. It smells good. You almost want to taste it. The cool thing is, is that you could! I don’t recommend it, but I like the idea that any beauty product I put on my body is nontoxic.

Blended mask

I recommend putting the banana paste on your hair over the sink. This part takes some skill and patience, especially if you have thick, long hair. I like to massage the mask into my scalp, and run my fingers through my hair. You have to get the mask all over your strands!

Expect it to be messy, expect it to get weird. Maybe you have a nice roommate, friend or partner that will put it on your hair for you. This is a great bonding exercise, and I guarantee you’ll get some laughs out of it. Who couldn’t use a laugh these days?

Truly, you’re going to look strange. There is banana paste all over your head. If your paste is too thin and it is running down your neck, I recommend putting a towel around your shoulders. If it is too thin, you have added too much liquid. You could add half a banana to thicken it up. If it is too thick, just add another tablespoon of water and blend again. Don’t worry, it took me quite a few times to get the consistency right.

You can leave this mask on for however long suits you. I recommend at least 30 minutes to one hour, but my roommate left hers on all night once, with no negative repercussions. If you want to get creative or completely ridiculous with how you put it on your hair, here is some inspiration from my best friend.

My pal (used with permission)

When the time is right for you, rinse your hair with shampoo and conditioner. If you accidentally overdid it with coconut oil you may actually have to rinse, lather and repeat.

I have also done this and had excess coconut oil in my hair for a few days. I am NOT saying this mask is perfect. Although, it has changed my life!

For my hair and scalp, I usually only have to do the mask once a month. If you find your scalp is quite itchy, you could do it biweekly or weekly.

If your hair is just feeling dull and you’d like to freshen your locks up, this mask gives it a healthy shine. Bananas help promote hair growth, improve the health of your scalp, and they strengthen your hair! Additionally, coconut oil decreases dandruff, moisturizes, adds softness to your hair, and is great for the scalp. Uh, yes please to all of that.

I appreciate that this mask can be used by all. Whether you’ve got lots of hair or you’ve got minimal hair… you can use it! Just adjust the ratios of the banana to coconut oil. This mask is fun in that you can tailor it to your specific hair needs. Have extremely dry hair? Add more coconut oil than the recipe recommends. Curious how other oils work on your hair? Try it out! Olive oil can be a nice option. Maybe you want to use honey instead of oil. It will change the consistency, but it is fun to experiment when you are just using up old stuff in the kitchen! You do not need to spend all of your money on products that seemingly don’t do a lot for your hair, and can strip your hair of its natural oils. Especially during these tough economic times, you deserve to have your hair feel soft, beautiful and healthy without breaking the bank!

Ultimately, when it comes to beauty regimens, it seems we all are striving to be some sort of beautiful that is outside of what we naturally are. And I get it. Make-up, dressing up, drastic styles, they’re beautiful. There is nothing inherently wrong with it. However, I appreciate this mask because it is beneficial for my overall health. Additionally, many different kinds of folks can use it. It isn’t just for men or women or non-binary people, it’s for everyone.

So, get a little silly with it. Laugh at how ridiculous you look and feel with this mask on your head. Sit in meditation for 30 minutes while it dries. Hate every moment it is on your head. Do whatever you feel is right. All I know is that after I use this mask, my head isn’t itchy, and I have minimal dandruff. I can write and dance and speak to people without the annoyance of my scalp screaming at me. If you struggle with this as well, I hope this mask helps you!

Whatever stage you are at in your self love journey, I hope you feel beautiful in your skin. That feeling could just be for a moment, but perhaps that could be enough.

Step by step guide:

Moisturizing Hair Mask

*For shoulder length, finer hair

Ingredients :

• 1 very ripe banana

• ½ tablespoon- 1 tablespoon of coconut oil

*Add more coconut oil and banana for longer, thicker hair

*A 1:1 ratio of banana to coconut oil is a helpful gauge

*Add a tablespoon of lemon to lighten (optional)

Instructions:

• Place ingredients in a blender.

• Add water (or lemon) if the consistency is too thick. Start with a ½ tablespoon and continue to add until you have a consistency of a paste. Make sure it is well blended!

• Scoop mask onto hair. Get every strand! It helps to be over a sink.

• Leave on for 30 minutes to an hour.

• Rinse.

• Enjoy your shiny hair and moisturized scalp!

hair
2

About the Creator

Madeline Docherty

Just looking out at the world and wondering why?

Curiosity is my muse.

Gardening is my love.

Connection is my inspiration.

Just looking into my world and wondering how?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.