Blush logo

It's all in the braids

How to get curls by just braiding

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
It's all in the braids
Photo by Terricks Noah on Unsplash

Hair is an important part for any woman. It defines us as well as provides an expression of how we want the world to perceive us. Some of us desire curly hair, some of us love beachy waves in our hair; some of us just go for usual straight hair. Either way, hair is not just an expression. Hair is art. Which is why different styles of hair can either cause a new trend or define a generation (the afro, mohawk, beehive, etc.). I learned that my favorite type of hair style is one where it gives volume, body and a silky shine.

So, my favorite look is where my curls not only look luscious and soft, but gives off a nice 80s-early 90s appeal. I love when my hair falls on my shoulders. I want to give off a thick, pretty appeal because it shows that I appreciate my hair as well as maybe influence someone who wonders if they too can pull off or do their hair just like mine. Ever since high school, I have maintained this curly hair style because I was and still am obsessed with vintage looks. That is why I still try to keep up with this hair style.

So, how do I do this? Well, it is simple but a little time consuming. Here are the steps that I take:

- First, I need to separate my hair into pieces. Enough for you to braid, but not into a big braid. It is important that you do this by getting a comb and brush as well as moisturizer. After separating the pieces, try to brush or comb out your hair so that your hair is not tangled and making it hard to braid. Which leads me to the next step

- Next, find a good moisturizer or grease that nourished your scalp as well as give a shine to your curls. It is important to keep your hair not dry because if your hair is dry when you braid, it can cause breakage. I like to have either a leave-in conditioner or hair lotion. SOmething that I tend to use is Olive Oil hair products. It is a good moisturizer and perfect for black hair. Also, what I have noticed is that it gives a shine and nice texture to my hair.

- Then, comes the braiding. You need to braid your hair all of the way to the tip. The tighter the braid, the tighter the curls. However, be careful braiding too hard because it can cause breakage to the edges (top of scalp or by the pupils). If the tip of your hair is hard to braid, then try to get curlers and curl your hair at the tips.

-Finally, tie your hair at night. It is important that your hair is kept braided over night because it can keep the curls tight. If you braid your hair loosely, it will not really give you curls.

*note, if you want to have your hair wavy immediately, I suggest you braid your hair and flat iron your hair. Just make sure your hair isn’t too dry but not greasy. Just give it enough moisture. This is actually something that I do when I do not have time to do my hair in the style that I want.

So. There you have it! It is not that hard. It is just something that takes time and the more that you do this, the better your curls will be. It is not hard to do. Get the style that you want and desire. I hope this works for you!

how to
Like

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.