Blush logo

I Successfully Bid Farewell to Bad Skin for Good

I Bid Farewell to Bad Skin

By EternalflamePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
I Successfully Bid Farewell to Bad Skin for Good
Photo by Kimia Zarifi on Unsplash

As someone who has struggled with bad skin for most of their life, I can tell you that finding a solution is no easy feat. I've tried every cleanser, toner, and moisturizer on the market, spent a small fortune on facials, and even dabbled in some questionable home remedies (hello, honey and cinnamon masks).

But finally, after years of searching, I can proudly say that I've gotten rid of my bad skin for good. And no, it's not because I found some magical potion or because I suddenly developed perfect genes - it's because I finally accepted the fact that I am a grown adult who still gets acne, and that's just life.

Yes, you heard me right. The key to good skin isn't expensive products or elaborate routines - it's self-acceptance and a sense of humor. Because let's face it, there's nothing more frustrating than feeling like you're doing everything right and still waking up to a giant pimple on your nose.

So, instead of getting angry or upset, I learned to embrace my bad skin and all its imperfections. I even gave it a name - I call it my "rebellious teenage skin" because, well, it acts like a moody teenager sometimes.

Now, when I wake up to a new breakout, instead of feeling defeated, I make a joke out of it. I'll look in the mirror and say something like, "Oh great, a new friend. I hope they like the other pimples at the party."

And you know what? It's actually helped. Because when you stop putting so much pressure on yourself to have perfect skin, you're able to enjoy life a little more. You can go to a party or a meeting without stressing about the fact that someone might notice your breakout. You can take a selfie without obsessing over every blemish. And you can save some money by not buying every new skincare product that promises to be the solution to all your problems.

Of course, I'm not saying you should completely give up on skincare. I still wash my face every day and wear sunscreen to protect my skin. But I no longer view it as a chore or a way to "fix" myself - it's just part of my routine, like brushing my teeth or putting on deodorant.

For years, I struggled with my skin and felt like I was doing something wrong because I couldn't seem to get it under control. I would try different products and routines, only to be disappointed when they didn't work as well as I had hoped. This constant search for a solution to my skin issues caused me a lot of stress and anxiety, which only made my skin worse.

But one day, I had an epiphany - what if the problem wasn't with my skin, but with my attitude towards it? I realized that I had been treating my skin like an enemy, constantly battling against it and trying to change it. Instead, I decided to start treating my skin like a friend - something that was a part of me, but didn't define me.

This shift in mindset was incredibly liberating. Instead of feeling frustrated and defeated when I had a breakout, I started to make jokes and see the humor in the situation. I would call my pimples by silly names, like "Bob" or "Sally," and pretend like they were characters in a story. This helped me take some of the power away from my skin issues and see them as something that was manageable and temporary, rather than a permanent flaw.

Over time, I also started to realize that my bad skin wasn't as big of a deal as I had been making it out to be. Sure, it was annoying to deal with sometimes, but it wasn't the end of the world. I began to focus more on the things I liked about myself - my sense of humor, my intelligence, my creativity - and started to see my skin as just one small part of who I was.

This isn't to say that I completely stopped caring about my skin - I still take care of it and do what I can to keep it healthy. But I no longer let it consume me or define me. And as a result, my skin has actually improved. When I stopped stressing about it so much, it seemed to calm down and behave better.

So, if you're someone who has struggled with bad skin, I encourage you to try approaching it with a sense of humor and self-acceptance. It may seem counterintuitive, but sometimes the things we resist the most are the things that end up sticking around. By embracing your skin, flaws and all, you may just find that it starts to behave a little better.

skincare
Like

About the Creator

Eternalflame

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.