Blush logo

How I Stopped Paying for High-End Makeup Products

A Testimonial to One of My Best Internet Decisions as an Adult

By Lauren MarisaPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Influenster

Have you ever walked through the beauty aisles at Target and found yourself leaving with 1,231,872 things you didn't actually need? Or walked through Ulta or Sephora and found yourself purchasing an expensive palette, but made your wallet cry? Because same. Some might think I'm a beauty guru by the amount of beauty items I own, but I don't consider myself an influencer. Rather I'm an Influenster.

If you haven't heard of Influenster, I suggest you head over to their website right now and sign up because you've been missing out. Use my link while you're at it! :)

So, if you're thinking to yourself, "How does this relate to not having to pay for makeup???" Read ahead.

I have described Influenster to friends and family as a platform similar to Yelp. It's completely free to join and participate. Except instead of writing reviews about restaurant and service experiences, Influenster is all about product reviews and testing out new product releases in what the company calls "Voxboxes." Many of these product releases include makeup that Sephora and Ulta currently sell! And you can get it for FREE.

Like with anything that is sent to you for complimentary purposes, Influenster requires you to provide full disclosure in social media posts and reviews that you were sent the items for testing purposes. I also like to add in that all opinions are my own and in no way influenced by the companies whose products are being sent to me.

In order to qualify for these Voxboxes, a general social media presence is a must and maintaining an honest voice in your written reviews helps you out greatly! There is no guarantee that you will receive one, but the more you engage with the site features, the better. The best part is that I don't even have to leave my house or spend tons of money in order to try out some of the latest products from brands like Ole Henriksen, Milk Makeup, and Laura Mercier. For a working adult with a limited spending budget, this is everything.

See below for a few of the makeup items that Influenster has sent to me complimentary over the years, all in exchange for my honest reviews.

This highlighter has a unique roller applicator (a miss) and has sparkly pink microglitters (a hit!) that gives your skin a subtle glow.

I got to test out this foundation and concealer duo for free. This packed a punch!

This powder was my Holy Grail until I accidentally left it at Coachella. Luckily, I didn't spend a dime on it.

Because of Influenster, I've limited my purchases at stores like Ulta and Sephora, and have saved so much money on high-end makeup as a result. Students, unemployed, and working individuals alike can all benefit from this program. Join today! (shameless self promo again)

Sincerely yours,

Lauren(former shopaholic)

product review
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Marisa

Sometimes the best ideas come to you while in the shower and in the hours past midnight.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.