Blush logo

How I Cured My Acne

My Acne Story and My Three Top Products.

By Hannah PearcePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dealing with acne was one of the most draining experiences of my life. Through my whole teenage years, I never suffered with bad skin (well, maybe the occasional spot and blackhead), however, during the summer of 2018 I flew to New York. Due to never taking care of my skin, and having my only ‘skin care routine’ be taking my makeup off with a wipe, and splashing water over my face, I went onto this flight with absolutely no idea of what was to come. Wearing a full face of foundation, concealer and powder on an eight-hour flight is apparently not the best idea…

I’m sure it does not now come as a surprise that I spent my entire month in America trying to fix my progressively worsening skin. With limited funds, and next to no knowledge, I then proceeded to do things like rub my face with harsh face scrubs, use thick moisturizers, and continue to wear makeup all day every day. I even continued this long after I came home. It was only after I felt that even with all the makeup I was wearing as an attempt to cover it was no longer working, that I decided I needed to look a lot further into it, and see what was really going on.

After weeks of research, I came to the (now very obvious) conclusion that I needed a much stricter skincare routine. By far my favorite product I found, and the main contributor to clearing my acne is Glycolic Acid (a powerful AHA or Alpha Hydroxy Acid), which is widely known for fading pigment irregularities, and smoothing skin textures. I use this along with makeup remover to get rid of all traces of any makeup that was on my face during the day. The one I use is from Superdrug in the Naturally Radiant range. It’s called the Glycolic Tonic, and contains extracts from kiwi fruits and mulberry.

My second favorite skin clearing product is The Body Shop’s Drops of Youth liquid peel. This product is not only so much fun to play around with, but it is also SO effective in removing all dead skin from your face! This product contains three plant stem cells (edelweiss, sea holly, and criste marine) that all work together, when rubbed on to skin, to form little lumps of impurities from your face that you then wipe away!

Finally, my third favorite product is from the same Drops Of Youth range, but is the Youth Concentrate. This serum contains the same three plant stem cells as the peel, but has also been enriched with organic babassu oil, and is so moisturizing along with being extremely lightweight on the skin. I wear this under my makeup in the morning, as well as an overnight serum, and it has made such a huge difference in the texture of my skin! I would definitely highly recommend any of these three products to incorporate into any skin care routine!

I must also add that a change in both diet and environment can be really helpful in your search for what’s causing your acne. It is much easier to figure out what’s going on inside your body and to fix that, than to just apply products to the warning signs your body is giving you.

skincare
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Pearce

Hey! If you like my stories don’t hesitate to check out my blog! www.lightlylifestyle.com 🌸🌞

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.