Blush logo

Function of Beauty: is it Worth Your Money?

Product Review

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Lately, I have been seeing these ads on Facebook about this really cool brand-new shampoo. Celebrities such as "Riverdale"'s Madeline Petsch have been advertising called Function of Beauty Shampoo. The idea is that you take a hair quiz and creators of that company create a shampoo that is custom made just for you with the fragrance that you love. I was curious about this product because I have seen it so much in advertisements, I gave it go and I have been using it for a week so far.

I completed the hair quiz, they asked if my hair was straight, wavy, curly, or coily. Then they asked if it was thick, thin, or medium. And the final question of that section was if my hair is dry or oily or normal. I have straight hair and I put medium for the thickness of my hair, but I was not 100% if my hair qualifies for medium or is it closer to think. That brings you to another page where you actually get to say what you want your hair to do. I got a custom shampoo that is to hydrate, shine, fix split ends, lengthen, and finally to replenish, but there were many choices to choose from. However, from dying my hair so often I have ruined my hair so my so-called "hair-goal" was to basically fix my hair so it does not look so dead. After completing the hair quiz, you get to choose your own fragrance and colors. I went with very princessy colors (pink and purple) I wanted to feel special about the fact that I chose my own colors. Anyways, I went with peach because you cannot go wrong with that smell or flavor for that matter and it held the highest reviews of smelling amazing, but I feel like another scent would have been slightly better. When I opened the bottle it smelled amazing, but then when I used it to wash my hair, the scent kind of dies down and it does not carry with me everywhere I go.

I ordered the smallest sizes possible because this shampoo is so ridiculously expensive that I cannot believe I bought some even. However, the shipping took a shorter time period than anticipated, which made me super happy. I got the box and it came in a super cute girly colored looking thing. One of the coolest things was that even with the small sizes it came with shampoo pumps!! Maybe that is a weird thing to get excited about, but I love using shampoo pumps, makes life easier with the perfect sized amount of shampoo. The box also came with cute stickers to decorate your bottles with, so even if you ordered two of the same colors, you can still differentiate between them. The stickers were also super cute, there were some flowers and shapes like lipsticks and make-up. I used a few stickers on them and it certainly made the bottles more interesting. Also, your name does get printed, but it annoyed me that you could not capitalize it when typing it out. I washed my hair for the first time with this shampoo a week ago and here is what I learned.

I wasted my money on this product. I am not saying it is horrible and it made my hair fall out or anything like that. It is just that drugstore shampoo can do exactly the same thing. If you buy Herbal Essences or Dove you will get the same result as buying the Function of Beauty Shampoo. Keep in mind that everyone's hair is different. Maybe my hair is silkier to touch, but not by a whole lot like I was expecting. My expectations were very high for this product as I have watched reviews on YouTube before buying it. All the reviews were raving about this product, but Herbal Essences can pretty much do exactly the same thing. My favorite shampoo that I have ever used was a shampoo called long-term relationship and plus it smelled of pomegranate, which was much better scented than the function of beauty shampoo in my opinion. If you are looking to customize your shampoo just get the Herbal Essences or if you want to spend a little more money than Redken is also a very good option since that is what hairdressers use. However, I really enjoyed the amount of time and effort that the company put in to make it cute and fun.

Please note: I am not a hairdresser or in any way sponsored by Function of Beauty or Herbal Essences. I write purely because I enjoy it and I like doing product reviews, they are just fun to do :) if you enjoyed reading this article feel free to send me a small tip, it can be as little as a dollar.

product review
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.