Blush logo

Four Natural Remedies for Clear Skin

Love your skin again.

By Libbey IrelandPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have tried numerous amounts of products such as moisturizers and face washes that eventually dried out and damaged my skin. After years of using many different brands with countless amounts of chemicals put in them, I decided that I wanted to try something more natural and these four remedies absolutely changed how I looked at myself in the mirror. Thanks to these four natural remedies, I now love my skin again.

#1 Honey

Raw honey was one of the first natural remedies I had found. It is a sticky mess, I have to admit, but it is so good for your skin. The way I would use it is I would apply it to the desired spot on my face with a Q-tip usually and place a band-aid over it so the stickiness of the honey would not get on my pillow. Yes, I would sleep on it. The problem is that it [the band-aid] was a pain to take off in the morning. I would recommend applying it to your face as you would a normal face mask and let it sit for 15 to 20 minutes. I have heard that people do mix the honey with a squeeze of lemon and I have tried it and it does seem to work very well. Remember, raw honey! Not honey you would get at the grocery that has added sugar to it.

#2 Coconut oil

I use coconut oil in so many ways but one of the many ways I use it is as a moisturizer. After I wash my face with a hot cloth [Norwex face cloth] I will apply coconut oil to my face and go to bed. When I wake up the next morning the oil has absorbed into my skin and my skin looks fresh and awake. It is such a great natural remedy if you want clear and moisturized skin. Coconut oil is one of the greatest natural oils for your body. The other ways you can use it is when you are cooking. Instead of using cooking grease that you would normally spray the pan with before you make your eggs every morning, replace the cooking spray with a spoon full of coconut oil. We have Kirkland organic virgin coconut oil for those who are curious.

#3 Facial steaming

Facial steaming is a great technique to do when you want to cleanse your face and open your pores. When I steam my face I place a small sauce pan on the stove filled with water and place a mint tea bag in the water and wait until the water is boiling. Once it has boiled long enough I place the water in a bowl and place my face above the water and let the steam fill my face. It feels so nice and it smells amazing. I have my face in the steam until I start to feel that the bowl has lost its heat. Having a towel helps the steam stay in one intended area, I do not usually have a towel but if you want one that is totally up to you, feel free!

#4 Apple Cider Vinegar

Apple cider vinegar (ACV) has actually saved my life. This thing is a miracle worker. I've been using ACV for less than a year and I have seen tremendous differences with my skin. Over Christmas 2017, I had a terrible breakout on my forehead and it left so many acne scars. When I tried ACV after a few weeks my forehead was spotless. Every morning and night I put my mixture, which consists of one part ACV and two parts water, on. Make sure you add those two parts water because it actually holds a strong acid which if you apply straight to your face would not feel too good. I apply a few squirts onto a cotton ball or cotton pad, whichever you own, and rub it all around my face, avoiding my eyes, lips, and eyebrows. Apple cider vinegar is my favorite product to use at the moment. I guess you could say that I saved the best for last. If you are wondering what type of ACV to get, get the exact bottle that is in the picture above. Make sure it has 'mother' in it. It is a very important protein that is in ACV.

I hope that these helped and I hope that you have these items around the house. They are all so helpful.

  • Honey doubles as food too.
  • Coconut oil doubles as cooking grease.
  • Steaming your face doubles as a nice cup of hot tea.

Apple cider vinegar is a great detox for cleaning your body out. Take a small shot of it, and I mean small, and it is so good for you. (It does not taste like rainbows though.)

skincare
Like

About the Creator

Libbey Ireland

•—>; writer <—•

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.