Blush logo

Don’t Touch My Hair

Why It Shouldn’t Be Seen as Just Another Hairstyle

By Julianna CelestePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

For so long I had believed that curly hair was not the definition for beauty standards. Even today there are too many of us men, women and even children believing that straight or easy to manage hair is everything. We need to stop and go back to what made us feel this way.

This is my curly hair journey.

My curls and I didn’t exactly have the most romantic love story but my curls are a big part of who I am today. When I was younger, I was taught straight hair was the only beautiful hair in the beauty community. I never really understood why. I never understood why my mom had to put so many hot tools to my hair just to make it beautiful. I never knew the true definition of “beauty is pain,” until my tender head felt the painful hair pulling because of all the knots I couldn’t contain and the burns to keep my curls in hiding. In result, I hated my hair, I hated the fact that my hair caused me so much pain.

In middle school, I had no real guidance and I didn’t know how to deal with my kinky hair. All I ever did was slick back all of my hair into one ponytail leaving a big buff ball in the back of my head and that was called hair. As time went on, my mom thought it would be best if I got a Japanese straight perm. Let me tell you it was one of the worst hair services I had received in my life. As a matter of fact, not only did I have to go through this once, but twice! My curls were so curly that the perm barely got rid of my curls. Even then my hair was a mix of straight wavy curls that just overall looked like a mess! I hated my hair.

High school gave me a new start. It was also the time that I was in the same school as my older cousin. I looked up to her so much at that time and I started to realize she began to embrace her curls. Seeing someone I looked up to do a serious chop to embrace the natural side of her really gave me confidence to do the same. So my sophomore year of high school I did the same. I didn’t know what products to use or how to detangle my hair the right way but, I learned. I was so afraid to embrace my natural hair because I felt like it wasn’t up to par with the beauty standards. But I embraced and saw it as a new beginning.

When I was young I didn't see the beauty that I have within my hair. When I was young I didn’t know how wearing my natural hair embraced others. I don’t believe my mom saw it within herself at the time either. My mom has curls but I feel like she never had all the products and the growing curly hair to community to learn all that I have learned along my journey. From learning about products and different techniques, I have learned to be in love with the real me the natural me. I love every second of it.

This is me, the curly hair on my head is my crown and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Now I get nonstop love and compliments because of my hair. Some people are so amazed at my hair that they try to reach out and touch it. When they try all I simply say is, “Don’t touch my hair.”

My hair is not only a pillar in the beauty community but I can do so many hairstyles with my curls without being bored. I love my natural hair because my natural hair is me. I love the way my curls bounce back after checking the length. I love how big my hair gets. I love the frizz on top of my head because it’s the natural me.

The next time you look in the mirror at your natural hair, remember where you came from. Remember your roots. Embrace who you are. Embrace the crown on your head because your hair is indeed beautiful.

Share the message that natural hair is beautiful and don’t hide your crown, embrace it!

hair
Like

About the Creator

Julianna Celeste

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.