Blush logo

Cosmetics and Beauty Lovers

Make-Up is not a Mask

By Shanon NormanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder

Beauty. What a word. Be Yourself, they tell us. Then why do I need make-up? What a dilemma? Animals don't smoke, drink alcohol, or wear make-up, so why should I? Animals are beautiful just being whatever God made them to be? Lassie and Flipper didn't wear make-up, why should I? You don't have to, but that doesn't mean that those who choose to wear make-up are "evil" or "unnatural" or "faithless".

The world of beauty and the world of cosmetics have been tied together for a long time. I chose not to wear make-up in my late forties even though I was a big fan of cosmetics and also a sales rep for Avon. However, when Corona-Virus and the mask became the "truth", most people who had never had a problem with cosmetics or the "beauty industry" stopped purchasing or promoting or wearing make-up. It wasn't a moral decision. It was a pragmatic one. Why should I spend my money on make-up when I have to cover my face with a mask? Why should I put make-up on if the world is going to call my attempt at beautification "whorish". Beauty and Love are different words for a reason. Love can bravely wear an ugly face.

Why do you paint a painting? Why did you put that particular tile in your house? Why did you choose that color or make of car? Was it aestetically pleasing to you? Do you find a young face or an old face pleasing? Which do you prefer? If you like the young face, can you really be angry for an elder who wears make-up striving to be like the young? Are we angry with plastic surgeons? What was more important? Having teeth in your mouth so you could eat or wearing plastic boobs so a man might consider having sex with you? Was sex so much more important than acceptance? Was youth so much more valuable than aging?

I don't have a problem with cosmetics. I've been trying to change perceptions. Someone accused me of seeing everything as "beautiful" and I could not argue with that person because I have a way of being able to see beautiful even in the ugliest thing. I wanted to share those "eyes" with others, but they were too busy praising the destructive forces and they could not appreciate my wisdom. My "plan" to promote cosmetics through the Avon business failed because the majority of people chose to believe in Death and Pain and Misery and Hate. I'm not saying we should all sit around the campfire singing "Koombaya" --- and I'm ALL for individuality, but the combination of death, pain, misery, and hate is a force of worldly ruination so destructive even your top heroes don't know what to do.

Calm down. Open the good book again. Bring faith back. Bring normal back. We don't have to reach for the stars, they're already in us. You don't like what you see in the mirror, change it. If someone doesn't like your change, why should that bother you?

If you don't like what you see in the world, explain it. Don't condemn it just because you don't like it or don't understand it. Learn.

I got bent out of shape a few years ago when I heard a phrase "Learn. Unlearn." It was a tough one for me. I understand it now, but it took several years and a lot of emotional and physical pain to understand.

The world is round, not flat.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.