Blush logo

Coconut oil and Castor oil for falling hair

Naturally, treat your falling hair

By AbikaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Coconut oil and Castor oil for falling hair
Photo by Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

Has your hair been falling and breaking, and no matter what you put in it it doesn’t help the situation? I know what that feels àlike because I have had that same problem only 2 weeks ago.

My hair loss came just after I got married

By Altin Ferreira on Unsplash

Let me share my story with you first. I am 27 years old and only 1 month after getting married my hair began to fall like crazy. No, it wasn’t because I was stressed out. My hair loss problem has been there for years. I just never noticed how bad it was until it was pointed out to me by my husband. What was more concerning was, he was worried about it?

I am mixed with a lot of different races, so my hair has texture. I have fine strands, on which I used chemical straightener every 4–6weeks. If I don’t chemically straighten it, then the strands are very loosely coiled with lots of frizz. At first, I thought to straighten my hair will make it manageable and look beautiful, but I’m paying a hefty price for it now.

The last time I straighten my hair was 3 weeks ago. I had deep conditioning done as well. And for the last 2 weeks, it was good, my hair stopped falling significantly, all was well. But last week my hair started falling more than it was before. So no I’m really worried!

I was desperate to find something that will help my hair.

Taking some advice from my Indian family and Caribbean relative I mixed 2 oils, saturated my hair and scalp, and JUST LEFT IT IN OVER THE NEXT 3 DAYS! Yes for 3 days I walked around the house with my hair wrapped and saturated with oil. My husband didn’t complain but silently support my desperate move.

The 2 oils that saved my hair and my life are COCONUT and CASTOR oils. Yes, just coconut and castor oil for 3 days help to save my hair.

Let’s start with coconut oil

HOW DID I GET IT?

Coconut oil is everywhere and in a lot of hair and skincare products even as oil by itself. But for this task, you will need, fresh virgin coconut oil. My mother blessed her soul, made me some for the wedding. I love the smell when it is mixed with cocoa butter. To make the oil yourself is easy.

By Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

Coconut oil recipe

  1. Get one dry coconut. Break the shell, remove the jelly (hard fleshy white content).
  2. Grate the jelly, do not shred. Or you can blend with about 1 cup of water.
  3. You can extra the oil two ways from here.
  4. If you grated it then, place all the grated coconut in a strainer, and the strainer over a bowl, so the oil can collect in it. Then place it in the sun every day for 2–3 days. As the sun heats up the coconut the oil will start to separate.
  5. If you have used water to blend or after you grated the jelly, then pour the coconut mixture into a container, cover it, and place it into the sun for 2–3 days. The cream of the milk separated from the watery part, and onto of the cream ou should see oil. I must warn you when you open the container it will not smell pleasant, but it is worth it. Carefully, remove the oil, even though some of the creams may get in, placing it into a hot pan. All the oil and to boil for about 10 minutes. At this time you should see brown sediment and oil. Strain everything, collect the oil, and throw away the brown part. It is edible and quite tasty though.
  6. So now that you have coconut oil, always be sure to store it in a clean, dry, preferably glass container.

Now castor oil

By Thaismara Figueredo on Unsplash

This is much much simpler. I buy the sunny isle Jamaican black castor oil all the time and I love it. I’m or promoting it’s just my preference.

This is how I mixed the oil combination.

I added 50ml of castor oil to the coconut oil I already have. You don’t have to mix it this way, you can mix an equal portion of coconut and castor oil in a clean bottle. Apply it to the hair starting it, then wrap the hair with a cloth wrap. And that’s.

So how does coconut oil and castor oil help with my hair loss and growth?

I did some research and found out that the mixture of oils that I put in my hair is a potent combination for follicle stimulation, hydration and nutrient infusion supplement.

If you research the benefits of coconut oil, you will see it hydrates cells and adds vital vitamins, like vitamin E and A. Castor oil does practically the same thing.

So what conclude

Hair loss is no one friend and I have uncovered a secret to curing this problem. After days of distress and anxiety, I turned to this old remedy to grow hair, which is coconut and castor oils. By saturating the hair I added a potent dose of follicle stimulant, hydrating and nutrient-rich oil. But, instead of doing just an overnight treatment, I left the oils in for 3 days. I do not regret anything, my hair loss is significantly reduced, I mean a few strands a daily, and the hair on my hairline that was thinking has started growing with results.

By Kevin Butz on Unsplash

This article was originally published on Medium. Thank you for read, don't forget to like share, and subscribe.

hair
1

About the Creator

Abika

I started writing because it was my way to vent. Now I absolutely enjoyed writing and sharing.

I also write at Medium, find me at:

Medium lisby230.medium.com

Twitter Healthwise94358280

facebook peppingyourstep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.