Blush logo

Beauty Products I'll Use Until the Cows Come Home

The importance of personal connections to your beauty products

By Shelby Hagood Published 3 years ago 6 min read
1

When I wake up in the morning, the first part of my beauty routine is to wash my face with my green tea milk facial wash for sensitive skin. This is from Farmhouse Fresh, which has many cruelty free products and helps to rescue farm animals. I have many different products from the company ranging from face masks to lotions. Farm animals have always been a fascination for me and I love to get the pictures of the cows and goats that come with the package when I open it up. I get extremely happy every time I drive by a field of cows. I am definitely the person that yells, “Cows!” every time I see them, or at least some variation. I also like to say “Look how cute the moochas are!” That is a play on the Italian pronunciation for cows. The Italian word for a cow is mucca, but I like to say the word with a big long moo. I even have a realistic looking stuffed cow that is one of my favorites besides my kangaroo and llama stuffed animals.

I then moisturize with the happy hippie facial SPF. It has skin protection with vitamins C and E, all while smelling wonderful. The mix of raspberry and avocado oil is a great scent to start my day. The lotion is from Grove, which is where I like to purchase paperless toilet paper and paper towel products. I then go on to grab my favorite eye shadow palette, which would be my Cinderella one from Hot Topic. It has rich, dark colors in the palette that works well with my dark brown eyes. I have lately mostly been using the orange “pumpkin” color for the fall. Cinderella is a favorite movie character of mine. I actually like to collect Disney princess items, and have looked through many different princess palettes for eye shadow. Choosing the perfect color scheme for my eyes was a great consideration while looking through all of the palettes. I collect Disney perfumes, socks, dolls, ornaments, trinkets, and other such items to my liking. People automatically know to get me any sort of Disney princess collectibles as gifts.

Cinderella was my top pick for eye shadow after analyzing how I would use all of the colors. The reason why I am personally in touch with Cinderella as a character is that she represents a struggle of feeling trapped, but still having hopefulness to emerge from that trap she was in for a much better life. The patience of waiting for a great opportunity to come along after long days of hard work is inspiring to me. Some days seem extremely long, but being able to choose a bold princess color from my palette in order to match my outfit can make a long grueling day all that much better. There are many times when life has not been fair to many people in some way, but each day we have to continue with our goals after getting knocked down in order to push our way out of our slump to get to the ball where we are all striving for a dance in whatever our own definition of happiness is.

I then reach for a waterproof eyeliner to prevent smudging throughout the day. I found my favorite waterproof eyeliner on Ipsy by Thrive cosmetics. Another Ipsy find is my Rockstar mascara for a bit of extra lash length. Ipsy has been a great way for me to try new makeup products without having to commit to the full size. I enjoy anything that helps me to try before I commit to pay full price for an item. I also have had a subscription to Scentbird, which is a perfume sampling company where I would pay every month to sample a perfume. This has led me to select a favorite perfume of mine, which is the Dolce and Gabbana Light Blue scent. The reason I mention this is because I believe that smell is a part of beauty. Certain scents make people feel attraction, such as scents that are specifically made for seduction. I feel those types of scents usually have notes of rose, vanilla, jasmine, and pink pepper. Beauty to me is like the notes of the Light Blue scent, which are cedarwood, musk, lemon, bamboo, and green apple. Different scents bring up different reminders and feelings for many people, such as almond and leather scents reminding people of elegance. I am sure to use a spray or two after applying makeup in order to top of my beauty routine for the day to begin.

After going about my day, I end by wiping off all of the makeup with a cucumber cleansing wipe and taking a shower. After the shower, I use a face mask from Farmhouse Fresh. There are many exciting choices for face masks. I have tried their pumpkin, avocado, and tapioca. The pumpkin is a little tingling from the spices while the avocado and tapioca are soothing for my skin. Other face masks from their website that I am going to try next are banana, chocolate, and yogurt. I then use one of their night face moisturizers. I have mostly been using the watercress hydration and the three milk moisturizer. Next is the lemon oil or the sweet milk lotion that they have for my body motorization, replenishing oils that were stripped from me in the shower. The citrus and sweet smell of the products are also a bonus coming from the lotion and oil. The smell of citrus and sweet together is like a happiness that helps put me into a positive mood in order to dream better at night. My dreams constantly relate to what was some of the last smells I had filling my nostrils. This is why I am a strong believer in aromatherapy. Finding the correct combination of a scent, or rubbing oils on your skin throughout the day is a complete mood changer that can make or break a day.

This is my holy grail for products that I have taken the time to find and stick to for my beauty routine. I have defined a connection to these products because of their smell, feel, ethics, and personal gratifications. Going beyond grabbing just any cream or eye shadow is what makes a beauty routine so special for many to become excited about and stick with it. Beauty is constantly being seen as a term about how to make yourself look better for other people and listening to a mass audience about what new trend you should be ready to try. This to me does not make beauty special or unique for your own personal tastes. Doing the research to know what beauty products make you feel happy and more beautiful is all a part of the fun. I like moments within a group talking about beauty products where I am able to talk about my personal favorites, giving others a chance to go look up and figure out if it is something they want to buy themselves. This for me makes beauty more of an exciting journey over being a gruesome process that is just to fit in with others and have the same mascara spilling out of your purse.

product review
1

About the Creator

Shelby Hagood

Warner Bros and Disney 💕

Cat lover 🐱

Love fancy chocolate 🍫

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.