Blush logo

A Few Beauty Products That I Cannot Do Without

Sometimes it is worth the extra price...

By Margie Anderson Published 3 years ago 5 min read
2
A Few Beauty Products That I Cannot Do Without
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Just to make this clear, I am no great beauty but I have always enjoyed trying new beauty products. I have been interested in beauty products since I can remember. I have tried products of all different prices and I have found that sometimes it is worth it to pay a little more for some products because they really do work better than some that are less expensive. Now I have bought some expensive products that don’t work that great so not all pricey products do what they claim. I am not wealthy but I would rather pay a little more for something that works rather than buy a bunch of products that don’t work. I understand that just because something works for me does not necessarily mean it will work for the next person so the products I am going to recommend are suggestions based on my experience. However, I do hope that this article is helpful and that other people will discover some products that they like as much as I do.💕

Comptoir Sud Pacifique

My favorite perfume since the 1980’s!💕

The brand of perfume, Comptoir Sud Pacifique, has a variety of scents but my favorite are the tropical scents. In addition to the two in the above picture, Vanilla Abricot is another of my favorites. I stumbled upon this brand when I was going on cruises with my grandmother. They definitely have the perfect scents for a tropical 🏝 island! They do have different sizes of bottles so you can try the smaller bottles to make sure you like the scent before investing in a large bottle. It is pretty funny because when I wear the vanilla scents people always comment that they smell baked goods and they look all around to see who might be eating something good! I get many compliments when I wear these perfumes, especially the Vanilla Abricot. An advantage to this perfume is that the scent lasts long so you don’t have to worry about it wearing off quickly. This perfume is available at different websites but I purchased mine at https://luckyscent.com.

Gloss Moderne

I have very frizzy, curly, unruly hair and I am constantly looking for hair care products to help keep it under control. I found these products by Gloss Moderne within the last year and they are effective. The hair masque really helps to soften my hair. There is also a leave-in-conditioner but I have not been able to find it lately. The three products shown below can be found but for some reason this brand is not widely available. One place it is available at is https://revolve.com.

Great hair care products for unruly hair! 👩🏻‍🦱

Thrive

This lipstick by Thrive is one of my all time favorites. My favorite color is called Rowan. It is a different color than my lips but yet it looks so natural. Also, it is matte, not shiny. And when you put it on, it really stays on too! Another advantage is that it is not overly expensive and my experience has been that they ship it fairly quickly. There are other colors to chose from as well so if you don‘t like this color there is a good chance you will find one that you do like. The website for Thrive is https://thrivecausemetics.com/.

This lipstick doesn’t move! 👄

Yonka

I purchased Photo-Contour because I have a tendency to get bags under my eyes and this really does help. It also claims it helps with dark circles but that is one problem I don’t have so I cannot speak on that issue. Not only does it help with your eyes but it will also unblock your nose! I am not sure what ingredient is responsible but I am not joking when I say I really have put a small amount under my nose as a decongestant. This is available at various websites, including https://dermstore.com.

This is a great product that I have used for many years.

Tom Ford

This perfume by Tom Ford is called Lost Cherry. It is pretty expensive so I got the smallest bottle available because I wasn't even sure I was going to like it. I read so many wonderful reviews that I couldn't resist trying it and I have to say it smells wonderful. One disadvantage is that the scent does not last long. This bottle is not that big so you could probably fit it in your purse so you might have to spray it on more than once if you are going to be gone for a long period of time during the day. This perfume is available at a variety of stores and websites and I purchased mine directly from the Tom Ford website at https://tomford.com.

I just received this in the mail a few days ago and I love it! 🍒

Givenchy

This lipstick looks black in the tube but when it is put on it adjusts to the pH in the lips to create a color unique to each individual person. I really love this lipstick! I never use an entire tube of lipstick but I have only had this for about two months and it is almost gone. I highly recommend it. ⭐️ The color looks so natural and it makes my lips really soft. This product seems to be pretty popular because it was on back order when I ordered it. You can purchase this lipstick at various places but I ordered mine at https://www.qvc.com/.

Rouge Interdit Vinyl Lipstick

OUAI

I use OUAI Hair & Body Shine Mist on my hair. It smells great and it makes my hair so soft and shiny. But you can also use it on your body, which will look great in the summer!🌞 One website this product is available at is https://revolve.com.

This is great because it can be used on your hair or body.

LA MER

La Mer Moisturizing Cream has been around for a while and I have been using it for years. Yes, it is quite expensive but a bottle does last a pretty long time. Also, depending on your budget, they have a small size bottle that is affordable. It is a very thick, heavy moisturizing cream which I find works great on wrinkles just starting to show, as well as, for those that are deeper. La Mer has many different products that work great. For example, I also love the sunscreen and the facial mist. These products are available at many stores and websites, including https://sephora.com.

A little of this cream goes a long way!

These are just a few products that I have found to be very effective. It is so frustrating to purchase a product, especially expensive ones, that do not work. I don‘t mind paying a little extra for something if it does what it claims. If you decide to try any of the above products, I hope you find them just as effective as I have.😊

product review
2

About the Creator

Margie Anderson

Retired attorney from Pennsylvania.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.