Blush logo

5 Tips for Stronger, Healthier Hair

How to Get the Hair You've Always Wanted

By Caitlin SullivanPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

As someone who has a lot of hair, and by a lot I mean almost to my butt a lot, I get stopped about my hair on a regular basis. It’s become completely normal for me to get stopped on the street by strangers who want to ask me about my hair or even try and touch it. As someone who also colors their own hair, I get asked a lot about what kind of products I use to keep my hair healthy. So I am here to tell you about the products that I swear by and how I keep my hair strong and healthy.

Pantene Pro-v 3 Minute Miracle

($4.97 at Walmart)

I ended up finding this stuff a few months ago and haven’t looked back since. This stuff makes my hair feel like silk and makes styling so easy. As someone who colors their hair and has been for years, my hair can look pretty damaged and super frizzy. All you have to do is let this stuff sit on your hair for 3 minutes, hence the name, and it completely transforms your hair.

I use this stuff about once a week and it makes a huge difference. It completely eliminates the frizz from my hair and makes my hair feel better than it ever has without destroying the color in my hair. This stuff has completely changed my hair and is something I would recommend to everyone.

OGX Extra Strength Damage Remedy + Coconut Miracle Oil Shampoo and Conditioner

(5.99 at Target, shampoo and conditioner sold separately.)

These two things have turned my hair into a dream. Not only does it soften my hair, it makes my hair smell amazing. It smells like a beautiful island dream. These products add an amazing amount of moisture and shine to my hair and I’ve never found another shampoo conditioner duo that made my hair feel like this. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, especially if you have any amount of damage to your hair.

OUAI Hair Oil

($28 at Sephora)

This product is definitely a little pricey but a little bit of this stuff definitely goes a long way. I put this product on my ends while my hair is still damp on days where my hair is feeling rough and brittle and it immediately brings the moisture back to it. This product does wonders in making my ends look and feel healthy and it also smells great but isn’t over powering. I recommend this product to anyone who colors their hair to help heal any damage from the dye.

My last two tips aren’t products but instead ways I like to treat my hair. The first is I almost always braid my hair before going to sleep. It helps give my hair a nice wave without any heat but also helps me not damage my hair while I sleep. My hair is very long and if I sleep without it braided or anything it becomes extremely tangled and hard to work with. So I’ve learned that the easiest way to keep my hair healthy and looking nice is to sleep with it braided.

My last tip is probably the one that most people wouldn’t really expect. I don’t actually wash my hair every day. Now when most people hear that they assume that means that I don’t shower which is wrong. I usually wash my hair every other day or every third day depending on how my hair feels. On days when I don’t wash it I will just put my hair up and shower like normal. Shampoo and conditioner strip away your hair's natural oils and make your hair feel dry and brittle so to combat that I wash my hair less often.

These are the things that I have found to work for my hair and things that I swear by to give me my healthiest hair. These may not work for everyone, but I hope that sharing my routines that it can help someone out there bring new life to their hair and enjoy taking care of theirs as much as I enjoy taking care of mine.

hair
Like

About the Creator

Caitlin Sullivan

A girl here to write about everything that comes to mind. Nothing is off limits and it all comes from the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.