Blush logo

3 Quick Tips on Growing Natural Hair

'Unofficial' Guide to Inches

By Alexis GorePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Shari Sirotnak on Unsplash

Hello everyone! I am going to share with you the tips I have learned throughout the process of growing my natural hair. If you have been wanting to grow your hair out and nothing seems to be working, you can try to see if these tips will help you out. I acknowledge that everyone's hair journey is different and that I have no professional education on anything concerning hair whatsoever. These tips are pulled from personal, successful experiences and common knowledge that I'd like to share. I get asked all the time, "How does your hair grow so long?" So here it is my friends, my quick personal guide to a world of inches!

1. Moisturize, Moisturize, Moisturize!

I have found that applying daily moisture for my hair helps to revive it and give the nutrients and strength that it needs to stay healthy. This also helps to make it less likely to break. For affordable options, I usually go in between coconut oil, olive oil, and argan oil from common drugstore brands like OGX. I typically focus on areas that seem to become dry the quickest, like the crown of my head and in the back towards my neck area. I also make sure to focus on both the roots and ends, then brush/comb through to distribute throughout. To avoid buildup, however, I like to stay away from heavier products and keep with lightweight oils.

2. Wrap it up!

Common sense, right? Well for me, I didn't realize how vital this step was in hair care until after I faced the consequences. In high school, I would almost never put my hair up in a bonnet or wrap it at night. It didn't help that I always wore my hair down, causing friction between my hair and the jackets, scarves, and clothes I would wear. And boy, did my hair break off badly over time. This is why now, I always make sure to wrap my hair up overnight using silk wraps and bonnets to protect from split ends and damaging friction against blankets and pillow covers. Wrapping my hair also helps to keep moisture in, making my morning routine much easier. Also, wearing your hair up in a ponytail, bun, or even twisting it down in braids for the day can help protect your hair from friction, while helping to sustain the moisture.

3. Back off of the heat!

When I am not wearing my hair in its natural state in the summer, I like to wear it straight in the colder months. During the straightened period, I only use heat on my hair once every two weeks. Heat damage is real and can contribute to dry, brittle hair that is easy to break off. Also in high school, I would use a straightening iron every day. I mistakenly thought that it would not affect my hair type in the same way that it didn't affect other hair types of my friends. Of course, I was wrong. I had to learn that all hair is very different when it comes to maintenance, and my hair couldn't take all of the heat!

Quick, right? Again, these tips are very simple, but they are also very important in my daily hair care routine. There is a big difference in how my hair reacts to whether I am taking care of these steps or not. I'd also like you guys to check out a great book by Kelsey and Kendra Murrell. They are known on YouTube as the Glam Twinz, and the book is named The GlamTwinz Guide to Longer, Healthier Hair. Kelsey and Kendra are definitely goals when it comes to long, healthy hair growth. They are also a great go-to on YouTube for all things beauty!

I want to thank you all for checking out this post and feel free to leave suggestions on what you'd like to see next!

With much love,

Alexis

hair
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Gore

Blogger. Lover of all things music, fashion, and positive thinking.

Ig : @alexis.briianna

Youtube : Alexis Gore

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPyJBnNgiZGPze7BlG0KpzA?view_as=subscriber

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.