Blush logo

11 DIY Nail Design Ideas

Fun, Easy, & Cute💅🏼

By amandaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

I am one of those people who feels the need to switch up their nails every single week just because I get bored on the same ol’ thing after a few days. And loving to paint my nails helps a bit too! I find it to be so therapeutic and I love feeling satisfied with the results. So enough talk, here are some simple nail design ideas that hopefully you can use yourself or will inspire you to add a little flare to your nail art.

Stripes

#one

There are so many things to do with some sort of stripe design that they cover the first four art styles (so if you’re totally against stripe-looking nail art, you can skip ahead to image five). In the photo above, simply put on a base color and allow to try completely. Then put a strip of tape over the nail - make sure there are no air bubbles - and paint half of the nail with a second color. Carefully remove the tape immediately; DO NOT WAIT for the second color to dry first.

#two

Look number two is the same exact painting technique as the first, however use two pieces of tape making the width however thick you want your line to be, and paint the second coat of polish in between the two tape strips.

#three

As you can see in this specific photo, my lines didn’t turn out the pretties on my first attempt, but I just used three different colors, and a smaller brush to free-hand add on the stripes.

#four

My final stripe example is probably my favorite. In this image, I actually used white and black nail design pens that you can buy for cheap from anywhere such as Walmart, Target, CVS, etc. The point of the look is just to make every nail slightly different than the others. This could be by adding more or less lines, thinker or thinner lines, mirroring the same pattern from another nail, whatever else you can think of! It’s super cute and one of my favorites. It will also make you look like an artist who really knows what they’re doing with little effort.

Gradient

#five

Moving on to some other styles or nail art, I’ll start off with a classic. I personally rarely do gradients, but I recently tried it out and had a photo to use. Getting a gradient look can be achieved in a number of different ways, such as dabbing with a sponge. All I did was paint my nails with the lightest color first, and after that had dried, I applied two shades of blue - the darker first and then the lighter one in the middle - in thin layers until it looked like how I wanted.

Curve

#six

I don’t remember where I got the idea/inspiration for this specific look, but it is super cute and I want to start doing my nails like this more frequently. I actually just did everything free-hand, no special nail tape or nail art markers or anything like that. Just take your time and make it look the way you want it to.

French Tip

#seven

I’ve never once gotten a manicure with the basic French tip look to it, but I have done different styled and reverse French tips quite often. This can be done with a piece of tape near the top of your nail, or just by carefully painting the tip alone.

Watermarble

#eight

Watermarble is hard. I’ve never actually tried doing the design in a bowl of water and then dipping my nails into it, but there is more than one way to get a marble look effect. In the photo above I created decals for my nail. Around 4 hours of drying time is what I would suggest from table to placement on your nail, that way it’s completely dry but still bendy and not hard enough to break so it can be applied to nail more easily. If you are completely unfamiliar with the technique, I highly suggest looking at simplynailogical’s several tutorials of it on YouTube.

Accent Nail

#nine

Now that we’re nearing the end of the list, let me remind you of the most easy and most basic look of them all. Adding a simple design or even just a different color to your ring finger (or middle finger) is the quickest and simplest ways to make your nails pop!

Triple-Colored

#nine

The example above may be very much Christmas styled, but this look can be done with any three colors of your choosing. Personally I always pick two colors that I think look good together and go with a white or silver for the third color. You can do the look with or without the dots or lines or other patterns, but I think it’s a unique and fun look that will make people stop and admire it twice.

Adventurous Patterns

#ten

Finally, I wanted to add an example of a design with no real rhyme or reason to it. It’s fun to pull a variety of ideas and inspirations and mix them together for one fun look. This can even just come from everyday patterns you see around you like on a lamp shade, granite countertops, wind chimes, and the list goes on and on. Let your imagination roam free!

Thanks so much for reading. Send this article to a friend who also loves doing their nails! Keep a look out for a part two.

xxx

nails
2

About the Creator

amanda

22, Aspiring Video Editor.:꧂

Life without art is boring

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.