Beat logo

Zen as a Hero

The Superhero's Guide to Relaxation

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
14
Image Property of Marvel Studios

MCU Music and Chill

I am admittedly a big Marvel, DC, and overall superhero fangirl. My favorite hero is Thor and actually went as Thor: goddess of Thunder for Comicon one year. I enjoy the comics, movies, and shows, and the music for the MCU is pretty incredible too.

Female Loki and Thor

The scores and soundtracks for the Marvel Cinematic Universe are great for getting you motivated, helping you chill out, playing during yoga, or for concentration when studying. And I will show you exactly what I mean!

So what kind of music does an Avenger listen to when they need to relax?

The Music of a Hero

Every hero has a different playlist. Thor's playlist is probably made up of old Norse war songs and Led Zeppelin, while Tony's is a large list of ACDC, and Cap's is obviously God Bless the USA and the National Anthem. (Just kidding, but really though.)

And of course, our Avenger with the BEST taste in music is Peter Quill and his awesome mix of endless 80's classics. And that is exactly where we are going to start.

Relaxation and Record Players

As a mom of one spunky toddler, sometimes relaxing for me means tidying up during his naps so we have a clean place to live in. One of my favorite ways to relax is cleaning the house on a spring day with the windows open, the breeze pouring in, and chill music spinning on my record player. I have the first Guardians of the Galaxy record on vinyl, and it is my FAVORITE thing to play during those relaxing afternoons to myself.

While it's not traditionally zen, it will definitely make you relax and feel like a hero.

Zen Hero mix for Study or Work

The best music for concentration is usually scores from movies or games. Listening to calm, lyricless music actually improved the percentage of our brain that is engaged. It can also help reduce stress and improve mood, making harder subjects less daunting.

"Background music may enhance performance on cognitive tasks. One older study found that listening to music allowed test takers to complete more questions in the time allotted and get more answers right." -USA Today

This MCU Ambient soundtrack is made up of music from all of the movies in lyricless scores. Perfect for amping up concentration while still relaxing, and boosting your confidence in yourself.

Zen Hero music for Meditation or Yoga

As a pianist, I love the piano versions of most songs. I like listening to the songs I already know and love in their piano form because you can make almost any song more beautiful and melodic. I am also big into yoga and self-care, so this Avengers Piano Covers playlist is perfect for great for when I need a Zen evening at home.

Motivational & Meditative Hero Music

These songs of Asgard make me feel strong and elegant, both zen, and empowered. As any Marvel fan knows, Asgard is the gold-plated, beautiful, and bountiful home of the Aesir.

Try putting this playlist on during Meditation! Meditation has a lot of benefits, including better energy, stress management, being able to focus on the present, and lowered blood pressure over time.

As a big Thor fan, I love this Ambient playlist. This three-hour-long music & ambiance will keep you motivated and inspired.

I hope you enjoy my hero playlist! Make sure to take some time to focus on your mental and physical health through self-care and relaxation. Even an Avenger needs a break sometimes. Take care of yourself, so you can better take care of those around you.

Because that's what Heroes do. -Thor

Header Image for this article via CinemaBlend.com

_______________

If you like this post, read this next:

Thank you for reading! If you liked this article, be sure to click the heart button. Tips are also greatly appreciated. You can find more articles from me here on my Vocal profile.

-Leah H.

pop culture
14

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.