Beat logo

YTB G!RL$— The Platinum Selling

YTB G!RL$— The Platinum Selling

By Jason James Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your name, artist name, and where are you from?

My name is Taylor “Louie” Helgeson but I go by YTB G!RL$ or just G!RL$ lol. I am from Minneapolis, Minnesota born and raised.

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

Well every person is different for starters and with artists the same. But as far as what makes me unique, I guess it is my approach on how I make music and the learning experiences that molded me into the style of songwriter and artists that I am. Originally, I got my first taste of professional musical life as a child signed to the Minnesota Opera Company. I spent most of my childhood and early teen years not in school but rigorously rehearsing for opera after opera. Typically kids like me spent the majority of our day at the Opera center for when it was our time to be on stage. By the age of 13, I had been turned on to hip-hop and started doing shows around town with big local acts such Eyedea of Eyedea and abilities, Maria Isa, and Muja messiah. But I attribute a lot of my success as a songwriter to my origins in classical music.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

My goal in life is to continue to make a living off of music. I look at the music business as a mountain to climb and I do not believe there is a summit. I think finding a balance between success and happiness is really important for longevity in this business which is one of my biggest hopes for my career. Of course think about normal things like having a family, settling down, and what not but I’ve invested so much of my life into this and love doing it so much that has always kind of taken a backseat, luckily the last few years I’ve had a girlfriend able to put up with it but trust me, that’s rare.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

My goal in this business has always been longevity. If I am able to make a comfortable living off of what I love I believe that is a success. However, that doesn’t mean I don’t have goals I hope to achieve. The next five years ideally for me would include as many shows as possible tours, and getting back to fun writing camps after all this covid chaos calms down. I am also currently working on some interesting projects that I can”t speak on too much on just yet in Dallas, TX., as well as some personal projects ill be releasing mid-June, that’s all i can really tell you guys at the moment but,. Stay tuned!

What do you bring to the music world?

I think I bring a combination of different genres together that aren't commonly placed. My background in classical music and hip hop is pretty extensive as I’ve been doing them both for over 17 years! I didn't start writing pop music until around 2016 which ironically is what ended actually legitimizing me as a songwriter. After doing so many pop projects I began implementing all three styles together. This is why I don't consider myself a rapper. I consider myself an artist, whether you like my craft is up to you but it’s important to make a distinction between the two.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

My hope if any is to be remembered as someone who contributed to music in a positive way. I, like many others, was saved by music and my goal is to provide that outlet to as many peoples as possible, especially the youth in any way I can. One of my biggest long term goals is to open non-profit studios around cities starting in my own hometown of Minneapolis, where we would work with schools to give kids the opportunity to learn how to record, produce, and mix their own music, These days it's all about the self-sufficient artist and i'd like to be a part of encouraging that future.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.