Beat logo

Your Badass Morning Run

A fresh, eclectic playlist to keep you on the road longer.

By Tiara MenjivarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Your Badass Morning Run
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Running is my workout of choice because it's like a moving meditation, especially on trails, surrounded by nature.

But I'm not a purist. Music is a non-negotiable for me. It's part of the whole endorphin rush experience, so I'm going to take you on a little run and an eclectic musical tour.

By the end of this playlist, you'll have run 5-6 miles, primed your mind into an inspired and powerful condition, and pumped yourself up to face any challenges the day may bring.

New Day - Alicia Keys

Yes. Alicia Keys comes first. This is one of her more vibrant/pop songs, and the anthem of a "New Day" is just what you need to get out the door before the more intense music kicks in. This song is the one playing in my headphones as I put on my running shoes, start the GPS on my watch, and do all the warm ups of high knees, butt kicks, and hip openers.

My Power- Nija, Beyoncé

This one has various artists, but you can't skip over a good intense Beyoncé moment. If you've watched Black is King, then you already have the visuals of strong women owning the day, so how could you not do the same? You've warmed up and now you're running up the first hill on your route. This is the one jam to take you all the way up to the top of the hill without stopping.

The Search - NF

NF, you're right. I just need a little me time.

Let NF and a little anger take you to the threshold where the run starts to get a little challenging. The warm up is over, and now you're going to speed up and hold a good tempo.

Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)- Arcade Fire

You're starting to ramp it up now, enter Arcade Fire. One of the darker songs in this playlist (unironcally), and it's perfect as you start facing your demons of wanting to slow down and take your run a little easier. The guitars in this keep me going as I try to outrun my shadow.

I Will Follow- U2

The instruments in this song are unrelenting, and so are you on this run. The urgent tone in this one will keep your speed heighten as you approach the half way point of your run. You can already see the turn around spot coming just around the bend.

Month of May- Arcade Fire

This is the turn around song. You're now headed home, and Arcade Fire shows up again, giving you a little push. There's something about this song that makes me feel like I'm on a road trip with some friends, and for a moment, I forget that I'm running.

Run Boy Run - Woodkid

Intense and cinematic at the same time, this song is pure perfection as you hit your runner's high. That moment where your strides become other-wordly and you feel like you could go on forever. Music burns memories into my mind, and this is one song that reminds me of a difficult but GORGEOUS run in Tahoe, and for three and a half minutes, I'm back in the mountains with a lake view.

Look Right Through- Mk Dub III Storm Queen

Your heart has been working really hard now, and the bass drops in this will match your beating heart. The beat in this one narrows your focus, and keeps you zeroed in, making sure your form is still good, and you're not getting messy or lazy. Almost done!

Charlie Brown - Coldplay

It's impossible to listen to this song and not feel a little light and fun. You're moving out of intense/anger mode and back to the vibrant/pop feel you started with, and with only one mile left to go, the celebratory sound of Charlie Brown is on point.

Bixby- Ginger Runner

As you come to the end of your run, Bixby is the perfect cool down song.

Ginger Runner is a guy on Youtube who inspired me to run on trails. He run all kinds of ultra marathons, and he documents the adventures. He's a great filmmaker, AND he makes his own music for his films. Bixby is a song he composed for his Big Sur Marathon video, and listening to this song makes you feel like you're running near the coast of California, breathing the fresh salty air. Mood elevated and cooled down, now you're ready to do your stretch routine.

Boom. You did it!

How does it feel to start your morning with the sport that's the punishment of all the other sports?

Bad ass.

list
2

About the Creator

Tiara Menjivar

I’m a filmmaker, world traveler, storyteller, creative, and the host of The Breaking Podcast. I challenge old stories that keep us stuck, so we can live an authentic, creative life.

https://tiaramenjivar.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.