Beat logo

Young Devo—Lone Wolf

Young Devo

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your name, artist name and where are you from?

I’m Devron West, generally known as Devo or Young Devo, from Jeffersonville Indiana.

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

Most certainly I believe what makes me different as a person is my ability to adapt myself in any given situation, and more importantly in the music field, my versatility. With my flow and unique styles to create melodies, i think i can make my own flow on any instrumental and collaborate well with any sound. 

What do you want to accomplish in life?

As far as things i want to accomplish, growing up i saw a lot of things on tv, such as the BET Awards, Grammys, Coachella, all types of events and as I watched these stars go do their thing on tv it filled me with more hunger, because I knew i was capable of doing those things and could be even better if I pushed myself. I want to accomplish things like being invited to be a guest star on shows or being brought on tour with the biggest artists. Going platinum for the first time, making XXL... There is are many things i have to experience and make happen on my road.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Where do i see myself in 5 years... well I take my craft and my time very serious, so in my eyes I see myself at the Grammy Awards or at least on the Rolling Loud stages. I keep high expectations for myself, as any upcoming artist should. I also know I can make it happen very soon. A lot of people carry doubt and if you doubt yourself you’ll never make it in music ever, only cause people hate. Main focus is I see myself on a very big platform in 5 years.

What do you bring to the music world?

What I bring to the music world is FUN. When people listen to my music or most of my songs, I want them to enjoy the vibe of the song or just have fun to my melodies. I mean of course I can rap, but I want my fans to be wild and lit. Lit fans means lit shows and more lit music, so that’s the type of energy I bring when i’m in the booth flowing. At the same time, I also want people to feel my lyrics too, I want them to feel relatable, people can listen and feel as if they have done it or done something similar, cause obviously no one can be me, so yeah I thing i bring a different type of vibe that my fans can just surf on my wave and support me as I support them and give them what they want to hear.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

As a kid i always listened to Soulja Boy and Lil B, Lil Wayne of course. All those guys changed the generation of music and made trends worldwide, obviously the guys nowadays like Lil Baby, Thugger and Gunna, real king slimes they are elevating the sound of hip hop, and that is something I want my fans to see out of me when I reach my peak. To be seen as an artist that stands out and changes the whole entire sound of hip hop and starts a trend where people can say Devo is changing the entire game up to where artists are biting my style, cause it only shows i’m doing something right with my craft, also want kids to grow up and say they listened to me growing up.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.