Beat logo

You Have the Whole Album to Listen To

Album reviews I plan on doing

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
3
You Have the Whole Album to Listen To
Photo by KOBU Agency on Unsplash

When I listen to a song, I usually listen to it as a stand alone and have never really bothered listening to the album of which it came from. Even when I do listen to an album, it usually consists of me jumping from song to song, never fully listening to and truly appreciating the album for all its worth. I know. I know. Shame on me. 😅

However, I’ve been focusing on listening to the whole album more rather than just the few select songs on it.

Listening to an album from the beginning track to the end is similar to that of reading a story in a way. For the most part, the placement of the tracks on an album are done intentionally. It really does make a difference as to what order the tracks are placed on an album. Track placement has to coincide with the over all theme of the album. It has to match the flow of the album as well. Maybe, it’s not ideal to have three slow songs in a row or of the same pace for that matter.

Every music artist has their own reasons for track placement on an album. According to Billboard.com, Billy Joel did the order of his album, River of Dreams, by the order of when he wrote the songs.

I did an album review of Duran Duran’s latest album, Danse Macabre, which is based on Halloween and all things spooky. It is their sixteenth and latest album.

I also did a review of another Duran Duran album, Greatest which is a compilation of their top hits from 1980–1997.

Other albums on my list to review are:

Future Past

Another Duran Duran album. This one’s their 15th and next latest album. The album is about merging new and modern sounds (future) with their familiar classic 80’s sounds (past).

The Best of Depeche Mode: Vol. 1

I’ve been listening to this album on and off quite a bit. Depeche Mode is one of my top favorite bands and this compilation of their all time greatest hits will not disappoint a fellow “Devotee”.

Chariot

author image / image source: J Records

This is by singer, songwriter Gavin DeGraw and is the very first album I’ve ever owned. I bought it in high school and would actually play it quite a bit from beginning to end. I’ve always loved Gavin Degraw’s songwriting because of how relatable to me it felt. I look forward to listening to this album once again.

The Resistance

By the alternative rock band, Muse, this is another album I’ve listen to on and off quite a bit. By means of doing a review, I will give it an even more thorough listen.

The Very Best of Sting & the Police

And yet another album I’ve listened to in the past. There are more than a few favorite songs on this compilation album so it will definitely bring back many great memories.

Songs About Jane

This album review will bring back nostalgic memories of high school. This is one album I listen to religiously on the bus to and from school. At one point I knew every track placement from memory on that CD.

Memento Mori

Image source: Columbia Records

This is Depeche Mode’s fifteenth studio album. The theme of this album is both somber and assuring as it’s all about knowing that death is a part of life.

Mercury — Acts 1 & 2

This album has been on my must review list for a while. Listening to some Imagine Dragons never fails to give me a motivation boost and I am sure this album will not disappoint.

This will be a worthwhile experience listening to each of these albums and paying attention to each one’s theme if there is one. It will also be a way to discover new songs I usually wouldn't hear.

listalternative
3

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fabulous review!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.