Beat logo

Yarro and Pashka spin a hauntingly beautiful tale in the newly released ‘Snow Remix’ and I get to learn about her creative process in an exclusive interview.

By: Alia Logan

By The Industry UnveiledPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

Originally released on Yarro’s EP, Reset, Snow is a song about rude awakenings. Set to a slow, yet hauntingly melodious piano, the record tells the story of unrequited love- the kind that is experienced in delusions of ego and toxicity- and it’s cold and harsh stirring to reality. The remix to Yarro’s Snow, done in collaboration with Pashka, combines an ambient house-beat with Yarro’s bold and emotive vocals. Created for a live performance during Fashion Art Toronto’s, ‘Digital Runway Series', this remix was once a lengthy track that adorned the entirety of designer Padina Bondar’s showcase. Bondar's whimsical and starkly haunting pieces, melded effortlessly with Yarro’s music. In fact, this rendition of Snow was received with such high praise, that the artist and producer decided to condense the track for digital release.

For those of you who don't know Yarro or Pashka, it would be my pleasure to make the introduction. Meet Yarro, a Toronto based singer/songwriter whose unique style is best described as Sultry and Soulful. She is a storyteller to her core, strengthened by her experiences in film and theater. This storytelling manifests in her music, which is often inspired by soft jazz, ambient house and alternative R&B genres. Check out her Reset EP, available on whatever streaming platform you choose. You won't regret it.

Next up is Pashka, a Toronto based musician and producer. His melodic style can be described as playful yet introspective. There is power in his ability to make you dance and also look inward at the emotions his music evokes. In 2020, Pashka released an EP titled 'Cozy Days'. The laid back instrumentals inspire feelings of Nostalgia, Affection and Serenity, making it the perfect soundtrack to the days when you're nourishing yourself with love. Combining sounds that echo inspirations from R&B, Lo-Fi and Jazz, Pashka's soulful and raw instrumentals are the perfect match for Yarro's unique vocal styling.

Being from Toronto myself, I have been a fan of Yarro for sometime and have enjoyed watching her career evolve. From film production, directing, acting, song-writing, creative directing and more; her artistry truly knows no limits. I had the opportunity to engage with Yarro in a deep and enlightening conversation, in which we spoke of: Creative Thinking, Confidence and How she approaches manifesting her dreams in reality. Check out the interview below:

1. Q: "What inspired your name, Yarro?"

A: “My name was inspired by my late grandfather, Yaroslav Bulchak, whose name was anglicized to ‘Russel’ as a child. I was raised in a multi-generational home and I’m so grateful to have had him around when I was growing up. He was a passionate dreamer, a renaissance man, and although he was unable to follow his artistic passions (and instead had a career as an Orthodontist), in another life I’m sure he would have been a famous painter or opera star. I wouldn’t be where I am today without the sacrifices and encouragement of my family, and for that reason I consider it my responsibility to dive deep into my passions and commit to my art.

The name Yarro is also borrowing from the restorative Yarrow flower, which is known for its comforting remedies. This reminds me of the healing powers of music, and how much more potent they are when shared.”

2. Q: "What does your songwriting process look like?"

A: “My creative process requires a lot of time and space to myself, so for this reason I live alone. I listen to a lot of music and study different genres and songwriting styles. I’m often singing melodies in my head, fooling around on the keyboard, improvising into my vocal looper, jotting down thoughts in my notebook or phone - trying to keep my channels open - waiting for the right word or tune to land. Sometimes lyrics come first, sometimes melody, sometimes all at once. In the early stages of songwriting, my goal is to create as freely as possible, without judgement or pressure. If the creation has potential, then I work to finesse and sculpt it into a fully realized piece. I mostly write from my own experiences, with a passionate focus on relationships (romantic or platonic), mental health struggles, addiction, change, etc. Recently, I have been in a more collaborative mood and have been enjoying writing sessions with fellow producers and artists, creating works like the ‘Snow (Remix)’ with Pashka.”

3. Q: "Being an Artist requires having Confidence, were you always confident or was this something you had to build?"

A: “Definitely something I’ve had to build and that I continue to build. I used to have the tendency to shapeshift depending on my surroundings - maybe because I studied acting most of my life, maybe due to my curiosity of human behaviour, maybe because of my need to feel accepted, or my fascination with pushing the limits of my own identity. However, this left me feeling empty and lost. The emptiness led to self destructive behaviour, which inspired most of my songs thus far. I am currently trying to dismantle my own belief that the best art comes from suffering. Partly because I no longer believe it to be true - mostly because this way of thinking was slowly killing me. Now the more I focus on my health and my well being, the more energy I have for my craft. The more grounded I feel in my mental health, in my quirks, in my queerness, the more comfortable I am with sharing my story. The more selective I have become with the people I choose to share space with, the more love I get back. The more I invest in myself, the more confidence I gain.”

4. Q: "You've been at the helm of some incredible projects, including your film 'Close This Door!', which you co-directed. How do you manifest these incredible ideas into reality?"

A: “‘Close This Door!’ took on many different shapes before it came to be what it is today. Ultimately, my co-director and I took the opportunity to experiment and explore until we discovered its true form. With my music, I trust my gut and my ear to lead me in the right direction. But to be honest, even though I have a head full of ideas, executing them has often been a struggle. Perfectionism and fear seem to creep up on me. I spent many years creating in an echo chamber, unsure of how, when, or if I wanted to share. Finally I just didn’t have the patience for my own preciousness anymore, and I worked to change my mindset. From then on I made the decision to finish and release my work. Staying open to feedback and collaboration has been key, as well as simply learning from doing. Once I started sharing and realized how much my music could touch people, that also became a great motivator. I guess what I’m saying is that I really don’t have it figured out yet, but it’s just about showing up for yourself. Three simple reminders that I’ve found helpful in this journey are 1. Keep going, even when it doesn’t feel good. 2. Always be intentional with your choices. 3. Don’t be afraid to ask for help, but expect nothing from anyone… you have to be your own cheerleader.”

5. Q: "You always think outside of the box, and I am so excited to see what your future holds. Can you tell me of any plans you've got for your artistry?"

A: “Thank you! That means a lot to hear. Like most people, the pandemic has greatly altered my life, which has led to a year of reflection, healing, and rebuilding. Inspired by this journey, I have been working on my next musical project titled ‘Remedy’. In general, I aim to create a safe space for my audience (especially women and LGBTQ+ folx) to access emotions and celebrate individuality through authentic and vulnerable surrender. I’m not sure what the future holds, but I do believe that I am at the precipice of a pivotal moment artistically.”

song reviews
1

About the Creator

The Industry Unveiled

A Vocal exclusive. Giving you all you need to know about the Music Industry. Here, you'll find: Music Reviews, Interviews, the latest News and detailed How To's.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.