Beat logo

Wouldn't It Be Much Easier ...

Doug Cash is a singer, songwriter, musician, arranger, producer. President of Pryor 2 What ? Records & Music Publishing. (ascap)

By mysoundMusicPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

"Beyond gender, beyond race, beyond time beyond space. Our love is universal."

Singer, songwriter, musician, arranger, producer. President/Owner of Pryor 2 What ? Records & Music Publishing ...

that's Doug Cash.

Do you come from a musical family?

No, I'm the only musician in my family. My sister played violin in high school, but never professionally.

How long have you been creating music?

I taught myself guitar and bass over 35 yrs ago while listening to the radio, reading Mel Bay chord books and learning songs off my favorite albums.

Tell us about your sound and what sets you apart?

My sound is a mad mix of pop, rock, soul, country, folk, metal, jazz. I've always been a sponge when it came to my art. I absorb everything and anything.

Do you write and release or do you plan each release?

I write, arrange, and produce in multiple genres. From 2000 to 2017 I was grinding in the studio building my publishing catalog.

Are there any challenging aspects to writing and/or recording your music?

The most challenging aspect was having the budget to do as much work as possible within the time allotted.

Is there hidden meaning in your music?

Songs have a life of their own. Once you put your work in the public square, it's no longer yours. Some tunes are obvious in their meaning. Others may dance around the subject matter.

Do you create music for yourself or for fans?

Sometimes both. I may get inspired to write something commercial that I believe a modern audience would dig. Like Dontcha Wanna, is very contemporary country pop.

Your song "Wouldn't it be much easier" has 3 versions(?). Can you tell us about the song?

I dreamt the opening melody. Walking down a paneled hallway to a small studio. Waiting for me at the entrance was Ringo Starr, Revolver era. He lead me to a room where Paul McCartney was playing piano.Then I woke up. The melody stuck. It's one of my favorite tunes.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

It's not possible to pick one. I have faves. Emotional Treason, Believe in the Love, Locust, When Mona Lisa Cries, Stuck in a Light House All available at Spotify, Itunes, Amazon.

What song do fans seem to favor?

When I was onstage regularly the folks always requested Emotional Treason. They seem to dig the meaning of dusting yourself off and getting back into the fight.

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

Back when I was playing the farmers market circuit I performed a ton of cover tunes. Elvis, Everly Bros, Marvin Gaye, Beatles, Four Tops, mixed with my originals. Better off Dead has always been a hot number. Lots of energy and attitude.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

The cool thing about Spotify is that you can track where your music is most popular. In the states it's Buffalo New York. Overseas it's England. Go figure.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your career.

I was playing a gig at The Fret House in West Covina, Ca during the Tiananmen Square massacre in China. I dedicated my performance to the students. I was hit with a rush of energy that knocked me back at least 3 feet. Received a standing ovation before I even played one note.

Love this

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

I'm from an era when Stevie Wonder and Elton John were in their prime at the same time. So maybe I can bring the singer songwriter back to the forefront.

Who inspires you musically?

I'm still a big Joni Mitchell fan after all these years. Her depth, emotion, insight and humor are unparalleled. I like originals. People who stand outside of the norm and think outside of the box. In hip hop nobody sounded like Eminem or Outkast. In pop nobody sounded like Amy Winehouse.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Alive: Stevie Wonder. Dead: John Lennon

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

I don't advise it unless this is who you are at your core. Many ups and downs and sacrifices. But it's easier to self publish in this era. You can do it through Songtradr or cdbaby. Get in the game.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

It's been the greatest tool for the indie artist. But you should adjust your expectations. If you're looking to get rich, dont ! If you simply want to make a living then go for it.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

Everything is on my Reverbnation page:

What does the future hold for you?

I spend my days running my label Pryor 2 What ? Records. Connecting with my dozens of vendors internationally for licensing, distribution, publishing, podcasts, radio interviews, Tik Tok promos, Spotify and Youtube marketing and more. Busy busy.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to connect with your audience.

All the best,

DC

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.