Beat logo

Workout & Leisure Playlists

Two Playlists for Two Shmoods

By J.G.Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Image and Article by Jasmine Monique Goodrum Tuesday January 12, 2021 9:00 PM EST.

Music For A Boosted Mood

Social distancing and mask wearing have made social life challenging. Through these masks it is difficult to breathe and to hear others as well. 2021 may just as well be a repeat of 2020, or at least half of it until the vaccinations numbers are up to the government's satisfaction. Life as we know it has changed dramatically. Aside from binging on Netflix and Hulu, painting, drawing, making jewelry and music, listening to music is something that enhances my mood significantly in these challenging times. I listen to music almost the entire day, upon waking up, when I'm bathing or showering, when I am falling sleep, and even on my way to the store. I have always had some chunky headphones or earbuds since mp3 players and the Walkman were trending. Music just gives me life!

I Am... Just... A Music Lover

Attention readers! I am no critic though as all people do, I have my own opinion. I do not work for Billboard or Rolling Stone but I’d like to think I have a great ear for good music. My grandmothers half-sister on her fathers side, Gertrude, was the cousin of whom many know as Billie Holiday. According to my grandmother my great-grandfather did not want his children to pursue a career in the music business because it did not pay well. However, my great grandfather Charlie Dixon was in a jazz band himself. The jazz band was called, "Fletcher Henderson Orchestra." They have vinyl records from 1923 to 1931. In addition, my father ended up dj'ing before I was born and has cool videos of my mom and him driving to New York for gigs. Who'm when they arrived I thought was neat that Busta Rhymes was in the background talking to him calling him "A." Im only just now discovering such things which explains my passion for music, it's literally in my DNA.

The Playlists Intro

I took the time to put together two separate lists of my favorite newish songs. The first playlist I call, “Millennial Soul Top 50” which has a smooth vibe to sing along with while cleaning or taking a bubble bath. (You can surely listen to it whenever you’re in the mood those are just when I listen to these songs specifically.) The second playlist I call, “GIDDUP!” GIDDUP is music that motivates me when I workout or just want to feel empowered and it's a combination of Pop, Rap, Dembow and Kondzilla.

Millennial Soul Top 50

1. Jazmine Sullivan – Pick Up Your Feelings

2. Sinhead Harnett – If You Let Me

3. Ari Lennox – Shea Butter

4. Lion Babe – Honey Dew

5. Summer Walker – Deep

6. Victoria Monet – A** Like That

7. Giveon – Like I Want You

8. Kehlani – Open

9. Kehlani – Bright

10. Danileigh – Easy

11. Pink Sweats – Honesty

12. Zhavia – Candlelight

13. Alina Baraz – More Than Enough

14. Jenevieve – Baby Powder

15. Kali Uchis ft. Jorja Smith – Tyrant

16. Jorja Smith – Blue lights

17. H.E.R. – Every kind of way

18. Melii – See me

19. Melii – HML

20. Paloma Mami – Not Steady

21. Tainy ft. Danileigh – Falta

22. Big Baby Dram ft. Erykah Badu – Wifi

23. Dounia – My Own Company

24. Dvsn ft Ty Dolla $ign – Dangerous City

25. Dvsn – Hallucinations

26. Ella Mai – Naked

27. Lexxy – Open

28. Foushee – Deep End

29. Sza – Love Galore

30. Sza – Garden

31. Doja Cat – Better Than Me

32. Doja Cat – No Police

33. Doja Cat – So High

34. Rihanna – Love on The Brain

35. Jhene Aiko – Eternal Sunshine

36. Zeina – Consequences

37. Jacquees – You Belong to Somebody Else

38. Tory Lanez – Temperature Rising

39. Daniel Caesar – Best part

40. The Weeknd – Call Out My Name

41. The Weeknd – Earned It

42. Bryson Tiller – Finesse

43. Partynextdoor – Come and See Me

44. Frank Ocean – Novacane

45. Khalid – Better

46. Miguel – Adorn

47. Miguel – Sure Thing

48. Miguel – All I Want Is You

49. Russ – All to You

50. Sabrina Claudio – Problem with You

GIDDUP

1. Britney Spears – Work B**ch

2. Pia Mia ft. Sean Paul – Hot

3. Jax Jones – Instruction (Mr Eazi Remix)

4. Chayenne – Nobody Like You

5. Ariana Grande – Focus

6. Jax Jones – Instruction (Mr Eazi Remix)

7. Major Lazer – All My Love

8. Will.I.Am – Feelin Myself

9. Nicki Minaj – Truffle Butter

10. Tyga – Dip

11. Tyga – Money Mouf

12. CJ – Whoopty

13. Fivio Foreign – Big Drip

14. Pop Smoke – Dior

15. Nav – I’m Up

16. Rotimi – In My Bed

17. Meek Mill – Uptown Vibes

18. Megan Thee Stallion – Freak Nasty

19. Juvenile – Back That Ass Up

20. Rubi Rose – Pogo

21. Rubi Rose – Hit Yo Dance

22. Sada Baby – Whole Lotta Choppas

23. Schoolboy Q – Paramedic

24. Stefflon Don – Move

25. Shenseea – Blessed

26. Tory Lanez – Freak

27. 6ix9ine – Kooda

28. 6ix9ine – Tati

29. Lil Pump – Boss

30. YG – Big Bank

31. Da Baby – Toes

32. Saweetie – Tap In

33. Saweetie – My Type

34. Ceraadi – Wild Girl

35. Mulatto – In N Out

36. Missy Elliott – Cool Off

37. Megan Thee Stallion – Don’t Stop

38. La Peversa – Papi Damela

39. Atomic Otro Way – Te De Campana

40. El Alfa – Dembow y Reggaeton

41. Shorty C – Tic Toc

42. TropKillaz Bola rebola

43. MC Fioti – Bum Bum Tam Tam

44. Mc Gustta – Abusadamente

45. Mcs Zaac – Bum Bum Granada

list
1

About the Creator

J.G.

Poet/writer and rabbit hole digger as well as a rookie investigator and equality advocate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.