Beat logo

Words cover Shannon King

Skylar Grey

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author/artists and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com and the video compilation. The correct references are also notated for the biographies on the songs and artists. Thank you!

LYRICS:

Always in a rush

Never stay on the phone

Long enough

Why am I so self important?

Said I'd see you soon

But that was, oh,

Maybe a year ago

Didn't know time

Was of the essence

So many questions

But I'm talking to myself

I know that you can't hear me

Anymore, not anymore

So much to tell you

And most of all goodbye

But I know that you can't hear me

Anymore

It's so loud inside my head

With words that I

Should have said

And as I drown in my regrets

I can't take back

The words I never said

Always talkin shit

Took your advice

And did the opposite

Just being young and stupid

Oh

I haven't been all that you

Could have hoped for

But I you held on

A little longer

You'd have had more reasons

To be proud

Oh

So many questions

But I'm talking to myself

I know that you can't hear me

Anymore, not anymore

So much to tell you

And most of all goodbye

But I know that you can't hear me

Anymore

It's so loud inside my head

With words that I

Should have said

And as I drown in my regrets

I can't take back

The words I never said

The longer I stand here

The louder the silence

I know that your gone

But sometimes I swear

That I hear

Your voice when the wind blows

So I talk to the shadows

Hoping you might be listening

'Cause I want you to know

It's so loud inside my head

With words that I

Should have said

And as I drown in my regrets

I can't take back

The words I never said

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Alexander Junior Grant / Holly Hafermann

About Skylar: "Holly Brook Hafermann (born February 23, 1986), known professionally as Skylar Grey, is an American singer, songwriter and record producer from Mazomanie, Wisconsin. In 2004, at the age of 17, Grey signed a publishing deal with Universal Music Publishing Group and a recording contract with Machine Shop Recordings under the name Holly Brook. In 2006, she released her debut studio album, Like Blood Like Honey, under the aforementioned labels.

In 2010, Grey co-wrote Eminem and Rihanna's hit single, "Love the Way You Lie", with Eminem and British record producer Alex da Kid, who subsequently signed Grey to his Interscope Records label imprint, Kidinakorner. Grey's second album, Don't Look Down, was released in July 2013. The album reached the top 10 in the US and produced four singles. Grey's third studio release, Natural Causes, was issued in September 2016. Grey has also provided guest vocals on several singles, including Fort Minor's "Where'd You Go", Diddy's "Coming Home", Dr. Dre's "I Need a Doctor", Nicki Minaj's "Bed of Lies", and Macklemore's "Glorious". Additionally, she has written songs for Kehlani, G-Eazy, Alicia Keys, Christina Aguilera, Zedd, Nick Jonas, Céline Dion, and CeeLo Green.

Grey co-wrote "Done With Like" and "She Said" with Jon Ingoldsby and American actress Brie Larson for Larson's first and only album, Finally Out of P.E. (2005). In 2005, Grey was featured on American hip hop group Fort Minor's songs, "Where'd You Go" and "Be Somebody".[citation needed] "Where'd You Go" was released as a single on April 14, 2006, with an accompanying music video following soon after. The song gained commercial success and ended up becoming a top four hit on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart and also became certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). After working with music producer Jonathan Ingoldsby, Grey released her debut album, titled Like Blood Like Honey, on June 6, 2006, under Warner Bros. Records. The album peaked at number 35 on Billboard's Heatseekers Albums chart.[9] During this time, Grey had landed opening spots for concert tours with Jamie Cullum, k.d. lang, Daniel Powter, Teddy Geiger and Duncan Sheik.[citation needed]

Through Machine Shop Records, Grey worked with Linkin Park affiliates Styles of Beyond and Apathy. She was featured on two tracks, "Victim" and "No Sad Tomorrow", from Apathy's second studio album, Wanna Snuggle? (2009). Grey toured as part of Duncan Sheik's band and contributed substantially to his 2009 album, Whisper House. In 2009, Grey sang backing vocals on Eurovision contestant Yohanna's debut album, Butterflies and Elvis. In August 2009, still under the name Holly Brook, she lent both her song "It's Raining Again" and her image to a promotional campaign for Ciao Water.[10][11] In early 2010, she performed in the theatrical version of "Whisper House," playing one of the two lead ghost vocalists, along with David Poe.[12] On June 10, 2010, she self-released the seven-song extended play (EP), O’Dark:Thirty. Production of the EP was handled by Duncan Sheik and Jon Ingoldsby.[13]

Brook later changed her stage name to Skylar Grey. While still living in Oregon, Grey visited New York to meet her publisher Jennifer Blakeman, to seek help presenting her work. Blakeman had suggested that she work with English producer Alex da Kid. Alex da Kid then sent Grey a few tracks that he had been working on, the first song finished song being "Love the Way You Lie".[14][15] The song was given to American rapper Eminem and Barbadian singer Rihanna. Their version became a worldwide hit, reaching number one on 26 charts and being nominated for four Grammy Awards. Grey received a Song of the Year Grammy nomination for "Love the Way You Lie".[16] Grey wrote the hook to all three versions of "Love the Way You Lie" by Eminem and Rihanna, and even recorded a solo version that was later featured on her fourth EP, The Buried Sessions of Skylar Grey (2012).

Alex da Kid went on to sign Skylar Grey to a production deal on his KIDinaKORNER record label imprint.[17] In 2010, Grey also co-wrote and was featured on Diddy – Dirty Money's single "Coming Home", which gained massive commercial success.[18] Also in 2010, Grey co-wrote "Castle Walls" by American rapper T.I. and American pop singer Christina Aguilera.[19] On February 1, 2011, American rapper and renowned hip hop producer Dr. Dre released a song titled "I Need a Doctor", featuring Grey and Eminem.[20] "I Need a Doctor" managed to peak at number four on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart and was certified double platinum by the RIAA. The song garnered Grey several Grammy nominations.

Grey made her national television debut under her new alias during the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards, where she performed "I Need a Doctor", with Eminem and Dr. Dre. During this time, Grey announced that she had begun working on her album then-titled Invinsible. In March 2011, it was revealed Grey signed to Interscope Records, through Alex da Kid's KIDinaKORNER and announced she would be releasing a single in the spring.[21] Later in 2011, Grey was featured on a song titled "Words I Never Said", the second single from Lupe Fiasco's Lasers (2011).

Grey released her debut single, "Dance Without You", on June 6, 2011.[22] The song later received a music video, which was released on July 5.[23] Grey's second single and formerly her second album's title-track, "Invisible", was released to radio on June 16.[24][25] Grey performed alongside aspiring rapper Eli Porter, on the September 20, 2011 episode of Tosh.0. In October, Grey was featured on American DJ Kaskade's seventh album Fire & Ice, writing and singing on two versions of the song "Room for Happiness", which became the album's third single and earned a Grammy nomination.[26]" (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skylar_Grey#Variety's_Breakthrough_of_the_Year_Awards).

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.