Beat logo

Winter's Wonderland

Saweetie & her Icy Influence

By Merril NowdenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

"Can't stop, won't stop, get guap." Those famous lyrics from rap star Saweetie's hit record "ICY GRL" have become my daily mantra.

In just 2-3 short years, Saweetie (born Diamonté Harper) has become one of Hip Hop's most prized possessions. I first discovered her on Instagram where she already had a pretty big following simply for being attractive. Using the resources in front of her, she utilized the attention from social media to shed light on her impromptu car raps (one of which was ICY GRL). She independently released "ICY GRL" on SoundCloud and I was drawn to it simply because of the motivational lines and popular Khia sample. Plus, the way she flowed reminded me a lot of girls I knew from the past. She had a sense of relatability about her. The accompanying video, which showcased her icy blonde tresses and high-class taste, went viral and I was hooked. I always wanted there to be a music artist that I saw myself in...and I definitely saw myself in her. She's from California and briefly went to San Diego State University before graduating from USC. I can't recall a time where bragging about going to college was a "cool" thing to do within the rap community. I wish she was around when I was in college because I never felt it was feasible to pursue music full time and complete my studies.

I'm so excited that a new generation of youth gets to see a public figure occupy that lane and gain motivation from it. She has spoken about becoming a university professor one day, and with her informational YouTube series, Icy University, she's well on her way. Being a young guy from San Diego, I had never witnessed anyone associated with my city gain recognition in music. A lot of other major cities have produced stars who lay some type of blueprint down, proving that this "pipe dream" is actually attainable. Saweetie has sparked a flame and restored faith in the city. On top of that, she's one of the only mainstream west coast artists and the only female rapper. Her lyrics primarily consist of pretty girl boasts, education encouragement, fashion references, and business tips. Growing up I pursued a music career and wanted to be known as a talented guy who cared about his appearance while also shedding light on investments and displaying his outgoing (sometimes quirky) demeanor.

Saweetie is a prime example that you can be many things. Now that she has built a notable name for herself in music, she has pulled a Rihanna and is taking over the fashion industry. From her daily on the go looks (taking a full body mirror everywhere has become her signature), to her iconic Fashion Week ensembles, to her own collections with global brand PrettyLittleThing, the self-proclaimed Icy Girl has become a pop culture it-girl. Her biggest feat yet would probably be being crowned as "Content Queen" by the online community for her creative and funny videos she consistently posts on social media and her YouTube channel. Putting her around-the-way girl personality on display has given fans and naysayers an insight to who she really is behind the baby hairs and decked out nails. She has dispelled the myth that if you are a pretty woman, you cannot goof off or eat interesting concoctions or be less than perfect. Quarantine happening really showed her ambitious side and has inspired me to work harder with no excuses. She juggles a thriving music career, fashion, makeup, content creation, and other business ventures all while displaying Black love alongside her longtime beau, fellow rap artist Quavo. I can honestly say that Saweetie has changed my outlook on what is possible.

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.