Beat logo

Why the 1980s had the best music

Of all time!

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why the 1980s had the best music
Photo by Dave Weatherall on Unsplash

I am a 90s kid, but I would have loved to have grown up in the 1980s. Whether it was the wacky hairstyles, vintage clothing and the movies, being in the 1980s would have been incredible. To add the cherry on top, the best thing about the 1980s: Music. Oh my God, the music! To be alive in the 1980s where you had musicians like Michael Jackson, Prince, George Michael, Whitney Houston, Stevie Wonder and Madonna just to name a few. Even though most of these musicians actually started before the 1980s, I felt that their best work occurred during this era that makes every generation have a connection to the song. It was not just pop music that was incredible, but of course rock and R&B music that just gave a sex appeal and excitement to the era. Here are some of the examples of the songs that I will list from musicians and certain genres with their songs.

Stevie Wonder:

Stevie Wonder is one of my favorite musicians. If possible, I would definitely want to see him in concert. Yes, Stevie Wonder had been around way before then, but some of the songs that I and maybe others have fallen in love have a certain feel to them. I Just Called to Say I Love You (1984) is one of the best songs. It mentions how no matter when it is, I just want to say I love you; whether it is New Years, Valentines Day, Autumn, etc. Then there is Part-Time Lover (1985), a song that can make you dance even though it is about cheating. It just seems cheery yet it is scandalous. A song that my mom had made me fall in love with was You Will Know (1987), a song that really deals with pain and just lets you know that things will be okay even though it is tough right now. You can’t forget That Girl (1982), Ebony and Ivory (1982) and Ribbon in the Sky (1982). There are so many songs from Stevie Wonder. In fact, I can write a whole paper alone on Stevie Wonder, but I have to also mention other musicians.

George Michael:

I love Wham! And George Michael’s voice is just beautiful. Wake Me Up Before You Go (1984), a very lively song that just makes you want to dance is one of the best songs from the 1980s. You also can’t forget Everything She Wants (1984), a dark yet good song that talks about giving everything to a woman who is still not satisfied. One of my favorite Christmas songs was Last Christmas (1986), even though it is about heartbreak, it is still a fun song. George Michael was a treasure and his voice is memorizing.

Madonna:

The Queen of the 1980s and Pop. Madonna is an amazing entertainer and her songs are just iconic. Who here does not want to go shopping when listening to Material Girl (1984)? Or not “Get into the Groove” (1984)? I mean there was also Like A Virgin, Borderline (1984) and Burning Up (1983). Who can forget Papa Don’t Preach (1986)? Madonna had so many iconic hits. When you think of the 1980s, it is a golden rule to think of Madonna.

Whitney Houston:

One of my favorite female musicians of all time. Whitney had the golden voice and hits. Whether you were wanting to dance, I Wanna Dance With Somebody (1987) was your song for that. How Will I Know (1985) was about a girl who wanted to know if the guy she had a crush on her would feel the same way. Of Course I cannot forget Saving All My Love For You (1985), even though that song is about a woman in love with a married man, it just has a romantic feeling to it that overlooks the real meaning. I can’t forget The Greatest Love of All (1985) which is a beautiful song about loving yourself. Like Stevie Wonder, I can write a whole paper on Whitney Houston, but I must move on to some other musicians.

Prince:

Do Me Baby (1981), Kiss (1986), Little Red Corvette (1982) Raspberry Beret (1985). You hear these songs, there is only one name that comes to mind: Prince. The Legend himself. Purple Rain was known as one of the best movies in the 1980s with a legendary album. Prince renovated music with mixing rock and funk that was only fit for Royalty, and no other like a Prince.

Michael Jackson:

The King of the 1980s. The Greatest of All time. The King of Pop. No introduction, Michael Jackson. Beat It, Smooth Criminal, Bad, Thriller, PYT, Human Nature, Dirty Diana, and so much more! Michael Jackson already had a legendary career with the Jackson Five. However, he made a huge impact in the 1980s with these hits. Michael dominated the 1980s with these hits and he broke records and made history in so many ways. I could write an article on him. Such a legendary singer.

Overall:

The 1980s was a decade with hits that made everyday seem fun and just wanted to dance. Whether you were into pop, rock, hip-hop or R&B, the 1980s provided music that either had meaning, made you want to dance or just feel good.

80s music
Like

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.