Beat logo

Why Shoegaze is the Best Genre to Chill to.

Shoegaze/Dreampop has a special place in my heart for being the self expression I never knew I needed.

By Ciarán ColemanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Shoegaze is a genre that means a lot to me and one I often site as my favourite style of music. Not a lot of people are very familiar with it so I've included a playlist below of songs I think are great to dip your toes in to get into the genre.

It's a genre of few words and even fewer voices so I think a brief look at its origin will explain its dreamy beautifulness better than I ever could.

From the swirling aggressiveness of 'My Bloody Valentine' to the melancholic nostalgia of 'Slowdive', Shoegaze is a genre that (despite its turmoiled history) has amassed an immensely dedicated and loyal fanbase. Its unique, ethereal vibe and intense use of distortion, reverb, delay and other guitar effects has led it to become a beloved genre by both the public and musicians alike. However, this hasn't always been the case.

A Brief History.

Shoegaze is a subgenre of alternative rock that emerged in the late 80's to very mixed reviews. The term 'shoegaze' or 'shoegazing' was a jab at the somewhat motionless performance on stage by the musicians as they would often be looking at the guitar effect pedals at their feet as they played.

The music was a cacophony of beautiful sounds, with the vocals being drenched in reverb to make them almost more of an instrument themselves, rather than a means to cite lyrics. The bands put the music itself, with its heavy distortion, feedback and overwhelming volume, above a typical bands showmanship which was exceedingly popular at the time. This led to Shoegaze getting a lot of negative criticism in its early years.

The growing support between the genre's bands for each other led shoegaze to be known as 'the scene that celebrates itself', which some took quite negatively. Likewise lots of bands aiming for more of a dream pop sound were often lumped in with shoegaze as both relied on big, swelling chords and unique vocal melodies lying within the music. Many shoegaze bands ended up either disbanding or changing their sound before the American grunge era officially pushed shoegaze aside.

Thankfully, time has been exceedingly kind to both shoegaze and dream pop, with both genres (particularly shoegaze) being recognised as one of the most misunderstood styles of music ever. Time has proven fans of shoegaze to be loyal and steadfast despite what early critics had to say. The critical consensus for bands like 'My Bloody Valentine', 'Lush', 'Ride' and 'Slowdive' has grown also, with many critics now appreciating the beauty surrounding the genre.

Genre Gods.

- My Bloody Valentine pre their 97' split. They reunited in 2007 -

The undisputed Gods of shoegaze are 'My Bloody Valentine'. Their album 'Loveless' released in 1991 is the single most influential album to come out of the scene and went on to define and influence countless shoegaze and dream pop band's sound. The famous Scottish band 'Cocteau Twins' known for their importance in making dream pop what it is today were heavily influenced by 'Loveless' despite the band forming years before MBV even met.

Hailing from Dublin, 'My Bloody Valentine's sound was something that took the country and simultaneously the world by storm. After a string of fairly succesful EP's and an album 'Isn't Anything' MBV released 'Loveless' which is now often included on lists of the best albums from the 90's. It was new, fresh and absolutely mental.

- Slowdive before their split in 95'. They reunited in 2014 -

'Slowdive' are a close second, in both popularity and influence on other artists. They are the band that gave shoegaze its youthful and melancholic association, with all the members being in their young twenties and late teens during the bands early years.

The bands early years were plagued with awful reviews as they tried to stand out amongst the ever-growing rage of britpop and grunge. Bar NME's favourable take on the band, most critics couldn't stand them and found their work 'dreary'. A loyal fanbase blossomed slowly, despite the critics and they are now hailed as incredibly important in the shoegaze landscape we know today. Despite their sound being considerably less punk than MBV's they are, in many ways, the definitive shoegaze sound.

Honourable mentions and titans in their own right include bands like Lush, Ride and Cocteau Twins (the latter being more dreampop). Cocteau Twins are often sited beside shoegaze artists because of their swirling array of sounds and dreamy vocals, but their predominant genre is dreampop.

Why I Think It's the Perfect Music to Chill to.

Listening to shoegaze is like taking a bath in beautiful sounds. The lyrics are present and melancholic but they never take you out of the swirling noise that encases you effortlessly. No matter the mood you're in, shoegaze embraces your emotions with a ferocious sensitivity unlike any other genre of music.

When I'm bitter I find myself listening to 'Only Shallow' by My Bloody Valentine. When I'm nostalgic I listen to 'When the Sun Hits' by Slowdive. And when I'm chilling, at the gym, studying or, most importantly, in need of a break from everyday life, I listen to shoegaze.

The sincerity in the music makes me feel things I didn't know I could feel. I feel like I'm floating in a 90's daydream, one I never want to leave. It re-awakened my love for life, or rather, my love for living. The uncompromising passion, the self-oscillating sounds filling your headphones, the swooning guitars and intense drums is a sensation you'll never want to forget.

Peaceful is not a word many would use to describe shoegaze, but for me it's the definite emotion I feel listening to it. The often over-whelming noise, the pulsating soundwaves erupting from the likes of Kevin Shields guitar let me drown out my everyday stresses and just drift away, like I'm a kid again, daydreaming about future birthdays and trips to the parks. I feel completely at peace.

Personal Favourites of Mine.

(in no particular order)

1. Sleep - Slowdive

It's an absolute crime this song isn't on Spotify. A close friend of mine introduced this song to me and I've been hooked ever since. If I'm tired but cant sleep I stick this song on and let the nostalgia-infused thoughts fade into dreams.

2. Pearly-Dewdrops' Drops - Cocteau Twins

This song makes me feel like I'm fading way (in a good way). Although more dreampop it has an ecstatic bittersweetness to it that makes me think of rainy Sundays in and long car rides to visit my grandparents.

3. i only said - My Bloody Valentine

When I'm confused or just a little lost on what to listen to, this song always seems to find me and sweep me up with its trippy, vibrating energy. For some reason it never fails to clear my head.

4. only shallow - My Bloody Valentine

This was the first song I heard by MBV and it had the same effect as getting hit in the side of the head by hammer made of butterflies. (Doesn't really make a lot of sense, but i guess that's the point??) I was stunned by the uniqueness, the aggression just beneath the thin veneer of soothing vocals, but I knew I needed more. It reminds me of that first sip of coffee on Monday.

A Final Note.

In short, shoegaze is, in my opinion, the best genre to chill to because it does the hard work for you. Not in the same way other great bands and artists might, actually, quite the opposite. Unlike most other songs, the lyrics aren't the main focus. They take a backseat to facilitate the instrumental in creating a unique emotion without words. All you need to do is relax and let the swelling guitars and echoing vocals invoke all the emotions you never knew you needed to feel. Happy listening friends.

So you made it to the end! If you enjoyed feel free to leave a like and, as always, tips are immensely appreciated. Click the little picture of me for more content of mine. See ya! - Ciarán.

alternative
1

About the Creator

Ciarán Coleman

'There's no time for hatred, only questions

What is love, where is happiness

What is life, where is peace?

When will I find the strength to bring me release?'

- Jeff Buckley

Interested in me writing for you?

Gmail; [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.