Beat logo

Why 'Rain on Me' Is The Song The World Needed Right Now

Gaga and Ariana's Rain on Me

By Ciara With a CPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
Gaga (right) and Ariana (left).

The new Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande song Rain On Me came out yesterday! I can almost guarantee you will have heard it by now and to put it lightly, I think I am obsessed. I must admit the song came at a perfect time. I live in the UK and we are still in lock down and this song has just gotten me so motivated and happy. Ironically, right now where I am, there is heavy rain and wind. So this song seems fitting. While watching the rain outside, I can dance inside to this smile inducing song. This is the duet I never realised I needed in my life.

This song to me incorporates the message that problems and difficult times may pour onto you like ‘rain’, but eventually the rain will stop and there will be brighter weather. This song is reassuring you that you are still alive, and you can overcome any struggles and worries. Rain On Me radiates positive vibes, empowering people and reinforcing that they can and will get through whatever they may face; especially right now during Covid-19. Eventually this global pandemic will pass, we just need to hold on until then! We can all get through it in time! I love the positivity and energy the song brings!

The song has great elements to it, and I love that Lady Gaga’s vocals change with higher pitched singing and deeper spoken words. When Lady Gaga speaks ‘Rain on me’ it reminds me of Madonna’s spoken words in Vogue and gives the song a hint of Madonna vibes for some reason. I love that! I feel it brings an old authentic feel to modern day music. The spoken vocals also remind me of Gaga’s song ‘Born This Way’ which is a total dance classic. I miss those deeper vocals from Gaga and enjoy spoken words incorporated into music. So, this was a refreshing addition to this song. The song is classic Gaga mixed in with an Ariana twist.

Having Ariana’s softer vocals on the track was a great decision. I never envisioned a collaboration with Gaga and Ariana, however, Gaga’s harsher sounding vocals compliment Ariana’s softer feel, to which they bounce off each other very well. I love that Gaga sings the first verse, Ariana does the next one and then their voices combine. Their voices harmonise fabulously together.

I love the dance electronic beat during chorus. It is totally a summer song and a song you will listen to repeatedly when the sun is out (or in my case the rain). This song just makes me want to dance and I can see it being a great drag song. I can just imagine two queens lip syncing to this on RuPaul’s Drag Race. Now that would be a performance.

Since I am here, I would like to talk about the music video. WOW. I am in love with everything in the video. I love everything from the dance routines to the hair and makeup. The costumes are very futuristic, which I love and is typical Gaga. Gaga has pink hair to match her pink outfit and I love that look the most! Ariana's outfits are very her, this adds her flavour and style into the video too! I love Ariana’s white outlined winged makeup, the look is stunning. Also, Ariana-who claims to not be much of a dancer- gives her all in the dance routines in the video, which I admire. She does a great job! This video radiates strength and displays their friendship. I just love these two together. They are such strong women and empower millions of people across the planet. They encourage people to be themselves and I think that is the best value that anyone can promote.

All in all, both Gaga and Ariana have contributed to a great song that anyone and everyone can listen to. The song is an easy listening, catchy song. Both artists have done an amazing job and have created something special. The song is full of energy, motivation, and positivity! I refuse to believe this song will not go down as one to be remembered. The timing of this song gives courage and hope in these scary times! I admire both these artists and believe this song is what the world needs right now.

song reviews
3

About the Creator

Ciara With a C

Hi there! I am a 21 year old from the UK! I love to write about various topics such as music, poetry, television, books and things I do in my life! I love being positive! I also have a YouTube channel you can check out at Ciara WIth a C.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.