Beat logo

Why Musicians Find It Hard After BBNaija - Efe

Efe Money speaks out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Efe was the beloved winner of Big Brother Naija Season 2. Before coming on the show, Efe was a musician and upon winning the show, he made it clear that he had no plans on quitting music and that he intended on continuing to pursue it full force.

Efe as we know is not the only musician to have gone into the Big Brother house - the Season 5 winner, Laycon, just like Efe used to do music before joining the house and is still doing music now.

Efe (left), Laycon (right)

Now, years after winning and with five EPs under his belt, Efe talks about the realities of being a Big Brother Naija contestant doing music.

Here's what Efe said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Efe on TVC's eSplash

During his interview with TVC, Efe was asked "What are your thoughts on people going to Big Brother Naija to push their works. Do you think it’s a good idea to come out singing or do you think it’s better to take up acting or some other thing?"

Efe responded saying:

Okay let me break it down for you like this. Big Brother is a lifestyle brand, it’s a lifestyle audience. So the mistake most of us as artistes make is to think that when we go there, you’ll be able to get your music heard to these lifestyle guys. These lifestyle guys, they don’t care about your music. They just want to see you dress, travel out, date who you want to date, cause fracas and chaos on social media. You be a proper entertainment tool to them but not the other way, they consuming your music. To come out and think you can easily convert these guys to love your music, they don’t care about your music. They only care about the top three or four popping artistes because those ones their music is already merged with their lifestyle cuz the music has been successful, so now if they give you lifestyle, it’s key. So that’s the mistakes most of we artistes do. When you come out, you’re now facing a new challenge – how to balance the lifestyle that they want to see and the music. But they are more interested in the lifestyle because they only see you competition as the fellow housemates while you being an artiste, you know your competition is with the music artistes. So you’re keying into ‘oh I want to be in the studio, I want to record, I don’t have time to give these people lifestyle, I don’t have that time’ – it pisses them off, they begin to judge you as a failure. You get the concept. So I’ll just say that as an artiste, if you want to go in there, just go in there because maybe it’s going to uplift your level. I’m not bashing it, it actually changed my life. But music wise, it more or less is where I stopped is where I’m picking from.

Wow! I never looked at it like this. Efe really makes a good point about fans of Big Brother Naija enjoying and wanting to see more of lifestyle as opposed to music. However, it's interesting to see that Laycon who had the same journey as Efe seems to be doing quite well in music. He seems to have a fan base that actually likes his music and boasts a current 54,000+ monthly listeners on Spotify as compared to Efe's 801 monthly listeners.

So is it the show do you think, or do you think it is just Efe facing this problem? Let me know what you think by leaving a comment on my Facebook post. I'd love to hear what you think about this issue.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.