Beat logo

Why Making Song With Justin Bieber Showed Me There's Nothing to This Life - Omah Lay

Omah Lay gets honest about life and new album

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Omah Lay is commercially living his best life right now. The 25 year old singer just put out his 14-track studio album, Boy Alone, which features the hit single "Attention", a song which he did with American superstar Justin Bieber.

During a new interview for Boardroom TV, Omah Lay opened up about himself, his album, and why recording the song with Justin Bieber showed him that there's nothing to this life. Without further ado, here are the highlights of what Omah Lay said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Omah Lay

Speaking about the decision to name the album Boy Alone as well as giving his thoughts on the album and himself, Omah Lay said:

I never had time to hang out with friends and just play and be a teenager, you know? I didn’t know what to do with my time, and I didn’t used to keep friends. As soon as I found music production, it felt like this is it for me. It was the only thing I could hold onto. It was the thing that could keep me busy from morning to night, and I’m still happy. That was my only escape at the time.

I’m the type of person that the normal things everybody thinks are easy, it’s not easy for me. I got issues that I don’t have words to explain them, but I got issues. I’ve been writing my album forever. I’ve not been able to finish my album for almost two years. Boy Alone is the perfect title for the album. It really covers a whole lot of my life. From my dad to what I am, to what I have grown to be, to what I used to be. Everything around me and how I live my life. Relating with people is so difficult for me. I try to push myself, but it doesn’t make sense to people when you tell them. Like, I could have a friend tomorrow and in less than a week, I’m not there anymore. I don’t know why, but that’s just what I am.

Speaking about how making a song with Justin Bieber showed him that there's nothing to this life, Omah Lay said:

I never thought I was gonna be famous. Before I became famous, I really wanted to be like Drake, like Lil Wayne, you know? But then, I found a new self. I realized that that’s not me. I’m an Afrobeats artist, I’m from Nigeria, and that’s what I have to sell. These days, I don’t wanna make music because I’m bigger than you or we’re bigger than each other. After Justin did a record with me, I cut out all that [competitive] stuff. I’ve always made music because I want to make music, but after Justin made a record with me, I felt like there’s really nothing to it. There’s really nothing to this life if I could get a record with Justin Bieber — from nowhere. He just made it happen.

It's true what Omah Lay is saying. When you're sitting down in your house in Port Harcourt watching these international artistes, it feels so out of reach, like it will be impossible to attain. But as Omah Lay said, there's nothing to it. That artiste is just another person like you. With the right connections and under the right circumstances, any door can open for you and those people who seem so out of reach can end up coming to look for you. That is just the wild thing about this life. True true, there's nothing to it in a way.

What do you think about what Omah Lay said? Let me know what you think by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.