Beat logo

Why I'm Suing Burna Boy - Q2

"He needs to do the needful"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When ultra successful Nigerian singer Burna Boy one year ago jumped on the already trending Master KG tune, Jerusalema for a remix, the song became an instant hit. Burna's verse catapulted the song to a new level of success and the song became one of the most successful songs of the year.

However, while everybody was grooving and vibing to Jerusalema, there was an artiste who couldn't believe his ears when he heard Burna Boy's verse on the song. Not because of how good or mesmerizing his verse was, but because to artiste Q2 Born Star, the verse had lyrics that sounded all too familiar to him.

Here's everything about the drama going on between Burna Boy, Q2 Born Star, and Q2's decision to drag Burna Boy to court. Here's everything you missed.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Burna Boy (left), Q2 (Right)

Before Jerusalema Remix was released to the world, Q2 Born Star had already released his own song titled Woro which had the lyrics in the chorus as:

To’n bá ka e mo woro (Woro)

Odi woro si woro (Woro)

Here's Q2 Born Star's own Woro. Listen to his chorus first because in a minute, you'll compare it to Burna Boy's verse.

Now, in Burna Boy's verse on Jerusalema (Remix) which came out some months after, Burna Boy sings on his verse:

To’n bá ka e mo woro (Woro)

Odi woro si woro (Woro)

Now, because of this lyrics and melody, Q2 is dragging Burna Boy to court.

Speaking to Channels Television, Q2 Born Star said:

My name is Q2 Born Star, and I'm the originator of woro si woro, I sang the song Woro. I made the song earlier last year before the pandemic. When I made that song, I played it for a couple of DJs and they were like you just made a street viral anthem and this is something they need to hear on the streets and something they're going to accept on the street. Ever since then, I've been enjoying the vibe and the whole attention the song is bringing for me. It's been nice.

The thing is I'm yet to get a response from Burna Boy regarding my song. We're just in court so I will not want to disclose anything as advised by my lawyer but right now, we're in court so we're definitely going to iron that out. I'm just asking for him to do the needful. It's either you pay me the money or if you don't want to pay me the money, then you could give me a verse. We're already in court as I said so I already told him what I want. It's whatever he needs to do now that he needs to do so he just needs to do the needful.

Personally, I think Burna Boy should just pay Q2 because those lyrics are practically the same and even the delivery of the lyrics are very similar. Burna I'm sure has more than enough to settle him so I don't see any reason to drag this out in court.

What do you think? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.