Beat logo

WHY I LOVE TO DANCE

DANCING IS A WAY TO EXERCISE

By rose m lewisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
WHY I LOVE TO DANCE
Photo by Isaiah McClean on Unsplash

At three years old I was dancing no one could not stop me from dancing. At the age of six, my mom enrolled me in dancing class. I was learning to Balet and I loved it. I went on stage a few times but my mom could not pay for the lessons. I had to stop going to dance class and I was devastated. Even though I was not going to Balet school I still danced. I grew up from six years old to a teenager. I was in the 7th grade and became friends with a boy my age. The boy also loved to dance we danced and practiced all the time. We were one of the best dancers in 7th grade. My mom could not stop us from dancing. We went to all the school dances and danced up a storm! When we danced everyone stopped and watched us dance to the music. We were great partners together and we loved to practice whenever we had the chance. I loved to dance with my partner he showed me many different dances. It was the sixties and most of the songs were from Elvis, The Beach Boys, etc. We also danced to Mo-Town songs too!

ELVIS PRESLEY (THE KING)

By Greg Ortega on Unsplash

It was the Ed Sulivan show when Elvis first appeared! He sang That's Alright Ma Ma and shook his legs to the beat. I was amazed at this young singer and dancer! I could not get enough of him and the great songs he sang! I bought his songs and played them on my Record Player. My friend liked him too and we danced to many of his songs. His voice was all over the radio and he sold many records. His song was the number one song on the charts! Eventually, he starred in many movies Blue Hawi was one of his movies. We saw the movie at the theatre and loved it! Then it was the late sixties when the Beatles came to America.

THE BEATLES

Nineteen Sixty Four the Beatles sang on the Ed Sulivan show. The song they sang was Do You Want To Hold My Hand. It became the number one song on the charts. They gave Elvis a competition, they were from England. I preferred Elvis over the Beatles and I loved to dance to the King! My friend and I could dance to any song I played. I had parties at my home and we had a lot of fun. I and my friend had mastered the songs of the Sixties. Today the songs are called the Oldies. We danced to the Twist, Chubby Checker sang the song. The Twist became another dance that I and my friend danced many times!

DANCING IS A FORM OF EXERCISE

By Roxxie Blackham on Unsplash

Dancing is a form of exercising it doesn't matter where you dance. You can dance without music if you want to. Professional dancers are always skinny because dancing takes a lot of calories off you. A great show to watch is Dancing With The Stars, it is a great show! It is one of my best TV shows to watch. The dancers get their exercise when they are dancing. They practice and practice the dance and they are getting exercise at the same time! Yes, dancing and exercising go together like Ice Cream and Cake! I am a senior now and I have had many operations, I never will tire of dancing. The exercise you get when you dance is better than running, etc. If you want to lose weight go ahead and dance, dance, dance!

60s music
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.