Beat logo

Why I Don't Care That My Song Didn't Blow - Whitemoney

Whitemoney reflects on this past year

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Whitemoney's life has changed. There's no denying that. After winning the 2021 edition of the Big Brother Naija show, things completely took off for him. He has been in a number of high-end commercials, he has become an influencer and brand ambassador. Whitemoney is also now a household name. The one place where he hasn't yet seen success really is in his music which was not very well received by the public.

Upon the release of his track Selense, a lot of people had nothing but negative things to say about it and ultimately, the song was not a commercial hit. In other words, the song didn't blow. While speaking to the good people over at Goldmyne TV at an event recently, Whitemoney was asked how many wishes from his 29th birthday in 2021 have come through today. During his answer to the question, he talked about his life and where it is at now. Also while answering, he addressed why he doesn't really care if his music blows up or not. Here's what Whitemoney said in response to the question.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking to Goldmyne, Whitemoney was asked "How many wishes of your 29th birthday in 2021 have come through today?", in response, Whitemoney said:

The only one wey never come to pass be say I never get babe. But every other thing - long life is coming to pass, health - I'm healthy, I've not been in the hospital since I came out. Only just home, they come and treat me at home. That is big man treatment you understand? (laughs). I've been going to shows, over 80 appearances on different shows. I will not lie, God is good. I can't even complain. If I complain, God will slap me. I mean you can see it for yourself.

Life has changed in different aspects. I'm grateful oh! I am. It's beyond winning Big Brother, I won the people's hearts. That is the most important thing, you understand. Being a president isn't what counts, how do you lead your people? What makes you a president? What made you a president, it was the people. So still being in the minds of people, for me to come out and people still shout "Whitemoney!", that is the greatest feeling ever. If I like make it no blow, if I like make the song no blow, but that shout wey dey say "Whitemoney!", I'm very happy. It shows that you're still relevant. But the moment you walk past the road and nobody is saying (anything) or "Abegi! Mschewww," bro, you have tampered it. So I'm grateful to God for that. I'm still relevant. That is my greatest joy.

Well, it's good to see that at least Whitemoney isn't phased by the underperformance of his song. As he said, it is worthy of celebration that he even is still relevant so that in itself is a wonderful thing. I like his response to this and his mindset about this.

What do YOU think? Let me know what you think about Whitemoney, his music, and what he said by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.