Beat logo

Why do you build me up Buttercup Baby history

The popular 1960s song is making a comeback through GEICO motorcycle commercials

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

"Why do you build me up (build me up) Buttercup, baby

Just to let me down (let me down) and mess me around

And then worst of all (worst of all) you never call, baby

When you say you will (say you will) but I love you still

I need you (I need you) more than anyone, darlin'

You know that I have from the start

So build me up (build me up) Buttercup, don't break my heart"

You may have these words come to you easily in recent months because you hear them often without even realizing it. Perhaps found yourself singing along with the catchy tune of "Build me up Buttercup" as you have viewed a variety of television commercials for GEICO motorcycle insurance. There is always a man driving along on his bike singing this tune until he is brought back to reality and realizes he was only daydreaming. The commercials aer very popular and even as I am typing the motorcycle ad with Buttercup came on and naturally I sang along.

"Build me up Buttercup" was the third single by and a 1968 hit for THE FOUNDATIONS a British soul band who were only around from 1967-1970. The group's background was West Indians, Sri Lankan, and White British and they were one of the few British musical acts to successfully imitate what became known as the Motown Sound. The first hit for the group was in 1967 with their debut single "Baby Now That I've Found You." It reached number 11 in the US and number one in the UK and Canada.

"Build Me Up Buttercup" reached number two in the UK and number three on the US Billboard Hot 100. The FOUNDATIONS have the distinction of being the first multi-racial group to have a number one hit in the UK in the 1960s. In addition to having a diverse ethnic mix in the group, there was also diversity in musical backgrouns and ages of the band members. Mike Elliott, was the oldest membe at age 38 and Tim Harris was the youngest at 18.

"I'll be over at ten", you told me time and again

But you're late, I wait around and then (bah-dah-dah)

I went to the door, I can't take any more

It's not you, you let me down again

(Hey, hey, hey!) Baby, baby, try to find

(Hey, hey, hey!) A little time and I'll make you happy

(Hey, hey, hey!) I'll be home

I'll be beside the phone waiting for you

Ooo-oo-ooo, ooo-oo-ooo

"So Build me up (build me up) Buttercup don't break my heart"

Buttercup has one of those catchy tunes that makes you feel happy and desire to sing along. The background music is indeed similar to the sounds of early MOTOWN music and perhaps that is part of the appeal. Listening to this song you might wonder why THE FOUNDATIONS did not blow up and have one chart-topping hit after another but it is reported that management problems and band members leaving were the downfalls of the group. It probably didn't help that they turned down an opportunity to open for THE TEMPTATIONS at the Copacabana Club which had just opened.

Why do you build me up (build me up) Buttercup, baby

Just to let me down (let me down) and mess me around

And then worst of all (worst of all) you never call, baby

When you say you will (say you will) but I love you still

I need you (I need you) more than anyone, darlin'

You know that I have from the start

Interest in Build Me Up Buttercup surged when the song was used in the 1999 movie THER'S SOMETHING ABOUT MARY. There have also been several times over the decades that THE FOUNDATIONS formed again with different band members,

To you I'm a toy, but I could be the boy you adore

If you'd just let me know (bah-dah-dah)

Although you're untrue, I'm attracted to you all the more

Why do I need you so

(Hey, hey, hey!) Baby, baby, try to find

(Hey, hey, hey!) A little time and I'll make you happy

(Hey, hey, hey!) I'll be home

I'll be beside the phone waiting for you

Ooo-oo-ooo, ooo-oo-ooo

So Build me up Buttercup don't break my heart!!!!

60s music
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.