Beat logo

Why “After Dark” by Mr.Kitty is a comfort song

The song no one can get enough of

By Samantha ParrishPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5

YouTube generates a lot of interesting suggestions that seems like a hit or miss if the song to suggest is going to match the songs we like.

I have to give to YouTube, they delivered a song that I can’t stop listening to.

I found a song I didn't know I was meant to find, to find something I didn't know I was looking for.

After Dark was the song I didn’t expect to find, but it was also a song I didn’t expect that served more than just a purpose of a song with a good vibe.

One night I was going through my playlist on YouTube for songs that came up in my recommendations that I saved to play at some point. And at first the title was interesting because of the artist name, Mr. Kitty. I figured I would give it a shot and if I didn’t like it that was OK. I press play and I was just going about my room doing some cleaning. And then the song stopped me dead in my tracks. I didn’t even listen to the song out loud in my room, I had to pause it and put on my headphones so I could hear the rest of it in my own world where no other noises could interfere with this experience listening to the song.

After dark is a song about letting down your vulnerability. Two people that find themselves together in a moment alone where the walls can come down and finding comfort in each other. Just look at these lyrics.

As the hours pass

I will let you know

That I need to ask

Before I'm alone

How it feels to rest

On your patient lips

To eternal bliss

I'm so glad to know

In this song, it feels like time has no meaning to spend time with each other.

We're swaying

To drum beats

In motion

I'm feeling

My patience

Controlling

The question

I won't speak

We're telling

The stories

Our laughter

He knows me

We're leaving

We're talking

You're closer

It's calming

There are songs about the intimacy being together. But there’s never been a song like this that talks about spending time together and enjoying the presence and the company of the other person.

People are flawed, people have scars, people are marred by life. This is a song that anyone can relate to and can be comforted by. It doesn’t specifically have to be a romantic song.

It can be for those that needed to hear those words. To hear that it’s OK to let down the walls, there is no shame, there is no suffering. All of those secrets can be released in the dark.

After dark feels more than just a techno song, it’s more than just something to dance to. To the core of it, it’s a comfort song.

Mr. Kitty has created other songs like In My Arms to tell how short life is, to enjoy the time together. Bullet sings about making the ultimate decision to leave someone. But no matter what song I’ve listened to, nothing ever hit like After Dark.

When you listen to a song like after dark, it’s hard to find another song that can be able to captivate and comfort. To hit the heart and the mind at the same time.

There are many others out there like me that have tried to find a song like after dark. There are playlists on YouTube that match the vibe of after dark.

After dark now has a permanent placement in music history, on TikTok, on YouTube. Even paired with sweater weather for a comfort combo song.

Who knows where the song will go next

song reviewstechno
5

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.