Beat logo

Why 90s R&B and Hip-Hop Will Always Have My Heart

I've partied to it, cried to it. I lived vicariously through 90s R&B and hip-hop. I couldn't get enough of it. I still can't. Here are a few reasons why 90s R&B and hip hop will always have my heart.

By KarriePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
1
Grafitti of Yasiin Bey, DUMBO, Brooklyn. Artist: Kink

The Big Introductions

You always knew what was about to come when a 90s R&B and hip-hop track began. Whether it was PURE emotion via the 'ooohhh's' of Brownstone's "If You Love Me" or a signal to get on the dance floor when the Notorious B.I.G started with the 'uh, uh, uhs' of "Hypnotize," people always got excited and sang along. I'd like to apologise to anyone who's had to listen to me try to match the higher than high Mariah Carey harmonies that swirl around just before the infectious beat of "Fantasy" kicks in but to be honest I think all the people around me have were doing the same thing.

The Creation of Unlikely Friendships

90s R&B and hip-hop appeals to lovers of the genre and mainstream pop fans alike. Among all the hits, Coolio's "Gangsta's Paradise," got to number one in the UK charts when I'd just started high school. I became quite shy after starting there because I was easily intimidated. However, the moment a scary girl from my class found out I'd brought my brother's copy on a trip to York, things changed. She got the coach driver to play the tape all the way there. We were never truly close because, you know, differences, but I knew I'd never get picked on by her since then. Thanks, Coolio.

Every Nuanced Emotion

Have a crush? "Find My Way" by A Tribe Called Quest is there for you. Have a crush but a love rival is trying to take that crush away? Brandy and Monica knew exactly what you're going through. Realised you're not sure about that crush after you see them talking to said love rival? "If You Had My Love" by Jennifer Lopez makes you question their intentions. Once you realise it was all a silly misunderstanding and your crush is totally into you, pretty much any Boyz II Men track would make sure you'd seal the deal.

And those tracks are just talking about love. When I'm feeling fancy and positive about life, which can be a bit difficult sometimes, Biggie's aspirational lyrics on "Sky's the Limit" give me a lift. When I want to be happy, I stick on, er, "Be Happy" by Mary J. Blige.

I was lucky to be in London at the same time as a party that marked 45 years of hip-hop the other day. It captured an era that has been and always will be the soundtrack to mine and many other's lives.

90s music
1

About the Creator

Karrie

Writing, rollerskating and dancing through life. Lover of music, travel, vintage style and the idea that equality can be achieved one day. Mancunian living in Barcelona, Spain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.