Beat logo

Whiling the morn away

Sunday morn

By Wendy BaxterPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
5

Sunday Morn

A decision made.

A bike ride today

There it is standing in the shed looking all forlorn and forgotten . I haven’t had a ride for umm, three years or more. Can I still do it? Will my fanny get sore ? Yes and yes .

First off the air compressor to inflate these tyres because try as I might I couldn’t find the bike pumps. Plug it in , wait for it to air up , wheel it out and attach the tyre piece to fit and away it goes. All done nice and hard .

A good wiping over around and under as the cobwebs hanging with leaves and dirt attached make it look old and unused .

Now oil for the chains. Back in the shed to find the oil can . Dad always has one on the on the bench , as I look everywhere but where is it?

Ahh! There. Prime it up and check it’s oil . Yep all good!

Dribble on the back sprockets and front, lift the bike, turn the pedals and lubricate all as it turns . Now wipe it all down so it doesn’t look like it hasn’t been ridden for years and no nasty stain spots on the pavers.

iPhone,ear plugs , loose change for the Sunday paper and a coffee in the town . Got my Vespa bag sunnies and I’m off.

Tis a lovely cool morning with a light breeze meeting me head on as I go from street to street .

I have biked round and round up and down my streets for years and know all bumps , dodgy footpaths and tricky corners . Nowadays it is a smoother ride with better paths laid down .

Travelled round one side of the neighbourhood and back to the centre where the Main Street is blocked from all cars as the Fringe has come to town .

Sculptures large and tall of seats, horses ,rhinos and waterfalls made all from metal twisted turned and melded welded together.

As I rode around I stopped and purchased the paper for a cryptic crossword binge later. .

Nearing the edge of cafe strip a ukulele band was playing next to the coffee shop . I had to stop . Not feeling half bad . Invigorated even .

I grabbed a coffee, I took a seat and faced the music tapping the beat .

I cannot sit still I cannot stay silent . I must sing I must strum along . They don’t mind ,the more the merrier on this Sunday morn . Tis addictive giving voice and singing out loud .

Such clever warm people to want to play and sing for us all. Enthusiastic , smiling, laid back ,seven strong.

The Ukulele is smaller and less chords,four is all, from the guitar and seems a jolly little member of the strings .

They are pumped, slipping easily from one tune to the next.

‘Come up, play”. they say as a small but happy crowd of people sipping their coffees and enjoying breakfast or a tasty treat from the cafe listen in.

No hesitation . I jump at the chance . I’m up my voice alive . Though the instrument is beyond my talent a voice is all that I needed today.

Happily with eager spirit I join in.

There’s a kind of hush, ah , a big yellow taxi and a psycho killer. Beats baby.

A great group that were so inclusive as the crowd did swell. Eleven people now watching and tapping applauding after each tune that is played and sung.

What fun.

“ Do you play every Sunday?” I ask.

“This is who we are. A card is handed to me.

SUFFA On Saturdays. (Subiaco Ukuele Free for all) play at the Subiaco markets every week though they have decided to become a BUFFA once a month on Sundays in my little town. (Bassendean )

What a lucky chance that today I didn’t go for a swim to plot and plan the next chapter in my book but took a bike ride instead that guided me here to listen to and partake of some cheer with happy folks around.

An Inspiration while seated sipping my coffee to write of the encounter with some Ukulele happiness.

Thank you all.

But I wasn’t finished with my ride.

Music on ear plugs in I waved goodbye saddle astride and pedalled off singing to the tunes on my iPhone as I pushed myself as the day grew hotter to head homewards with a side distraction of the river in my sights.

The air still having a coolness to it which blew across my heated skin as I pedalled harder and faster toward the water.

Down onto the banks cycling along the river path , seeing peoples kayaking and Supping along.

Singing loud and proud as I fled past parents with prams and Sunday morning strollers.

My thirst grew , my breaths a panting, I headed homeward this time.

Pleased with me for getting out and enjoying the day and knowing that the bike ride did me good. After all the swimming I have been doing this last two years the bike ride was made so much easier by the muscles earned from the water.

Yes. Baby ..

I will do this again........ soon.

I have found another way to let my mind float and form words to tell stories.

Feeling ten foot tall.

alternative
5

About the Creator

Wendy Baxter

A newbie to writing but not telling tales .

Found my narrative self after hiding for years inside me .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.