Beat logo

What Would Dolly Do?

"Find out who you are and do it on purpose." -Dolly Parton

By Kurt MasonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Taking a much deserved break from Greek mythology, I decided to dive into another passion of mine--Dolly Parton. The embodiment of southern charm, Dolly Parton has a career that has not only spanned decades, but she has also managed to seamlessly weave her name throughout all different genres of entertainment and popular culture: music, film, television, cooking, real estate, philanthropy, education, and so much more.

Dolly Parton, known for her over the top looks and a vivacious attitude to match, has become a household name for generations, but she has also done something that many “stars” forget to do and that is to remain humble. Dolly Parton is open and honest about her poor upbringing in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee, but she has used that to fuel not only her unparalleled rise to stardom, but as a way to remain grounded in the values that she cherishes.

In her book, “What Would Dolly Do: How to be a Diamond in a Rhinestone World”, author Lauren Marino has compiled different quotes and interviews from Dolly herself that can be used as a guide to live your life that way Dolly would. Marino’s book really does provide you with the answer to that age old question: What would Dolly do?

This book is part biography, part self-help, and part interview compilation, but the way that Marino brings all of these different pieces together makes this read as if you were simply having a conversation with an old friend. The book itself is broken up into different sections that tackle themes like friendship, romance, work, self care, business, etc., and each of these different sections offers insight into Dolly Parton’s personal endeavors, but also offers up some advice for how to apply what Dolly has done/learned to your own life and your own situation.

Full of heart, humor, and truth, this book brings Dolly Parton’s essence alive and gives you different glimpses into key turning points in her life that lead her to become the woman she is today. From refusing to sell “I Will Always Love You” to Elvis, creating her own theme park to boost the economy and livelihood of her small town community and pay homage to her roots, start the Imagination Library to support childhood literacy (throughout the United States and parts of the UK), or maintain a happy marriage for more than 50 years, Dolly Parton has had quite a bit of life experience, and she openly shares her experiences as a way to help people.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is a Dolly Parton fan, but I would also recommend this book to anyone who is looking for some wholesome advice. Although she may appear all glitz and glam, Dolly Parton makes a point to remain true to herself, true to her family, and true to her faith through and through. There were times when I found myself laughing, times when I found myself crying, and times when I found myself genuinely pausing to think about how I could apply what I was reading to my own life. While reading this, I learned a lot about Dolly Parton, I found myself yearning for a trip to the Smoky Mountains, and I was able to reaffirm my own beliefs about how I carry myself in this world.

By no means am I anything like Dolly Parton, but this book left me with the sense that if I could live my life with a single ounce of the passion, heart, and drive of Dolly Parton then I’d be doing just fine.

4 out of 5 stars.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Kurt Mason

Teacher • Writer • Reader

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.