Beat logo

What I've Been Listening To

An Update On The Music I've Had On Repeat

By Connie MatthewsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

I'm sheepishly attempting to return to blogging, but at the same time, trying to not overdo it. My brain is still a bit all over the place, but I feel like I want to actually chat about music today, so that's what I'm going to do.

The past couple of months have been a bit overwhelming, so I got out of my usual routine whilst working from home of popping on an album I hadn't listened to before, or finding a random playlist and listening to that, or artist radios that were filled with music that was new to me. I think that probably played a big part in why I was feeling so down in the dumps.

Discovering music is something that brings me a lot of joy. It doesn't have to be new music, as in recently released. In fact, I actually prefer being introduced to something released a long time ago, and getting that thrill of hearing it for the first time. Finding an artist I had never heard of, who has loads of albums out, and getting to start at the beginning of their discography and listen to how their music has shifted and changed over the years.

Anyway, I have been feeling more like myself the past two weeks, and the music I have been listening to has been blowing my mind.

1. Fortune's Daughter by The Armed (song)

This track came up as suggested after I had been listening to The Armed's latest album, Ultrapop. Ultrapop is also something I've been listening to non-stop, but this track, from their 2018 album Only Love just takes the cake for me.

Equally as heavy as it is melodic, this just gives me waaaaaaay too much hope of being able to scream like that. My voice is that of a little choir boy, and any attempt of screaming like that will never happen. A gal can dream.

2. Bloodmoon: I by Converge and Chelsea Wolfe (album)

Words cannot describe how hauntingly beautiful this album is. I wasn't expecting it, as I am OBSESSED with Converge's 2001 album Jane Doe, so when they released this, I was expecting a similar vibe.

I had never listened to Chelsea Wolfe before, but wow, what a voice. Simply gorgeous.

3. Reincarnate by Witch Fever (song)

AHHHHHH! I love Witch Fever so much, and have done for a while. Their 2018 single Daddy Pt.2 was my favourite song for YEARS. When I listened to their most recent EP, this track was a highlight. The guitar riff is so disgustingly filthy, and proper old-school. The vocals, again similarly to The Armed, give me way too much hope that I too could ever sing like that, ha.

4. Notes on How to Trust by GGGOLDDD (song)

Really not even sure how I discovered this one, but wow. There's a running theme with most of these tracks, and that theme is hauntingly beautiful melodies and/or strong as fuck voices. This has both of those things. I'm yet to give more GGGOLDDD stuff a listen, but if it's anything like this track, I will be all over it.

5. Drown With The Monster by White Lung (song)

Another absolute slapper. Pretty heavy stuff, but with 90s riot grrrl vocals. This track is off their 2014 album Deep Fantasy, which I still need to listen to, but again, if this track is anything to go off, it will bang.

6. Heaven or Las Vegas by Cocteau Twins (album)

The 90s is, and always will be, my favourite decade of music, and this 1990 album is one of the reasons why. Liz Fraser's unique, and almost operatic, vocals are just mesmerising and her vocal melodies are the most creative I have ever heard. This album is just iconic.

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Connie Matthews

Hi friends, my name is Connie and I play bass in a band called wych elm. This blog is for me to write down my inner ramblings, talk about music, being in a band and just whatever the heck I want.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.