Beat logo

We Think We Alone-Deem Spencer Album Review pt.1 of 2

Song breakdown 1/2

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2
From Deem's Youtube channel

*Curse words and mention of losing a loved one*

I've listened to this album sooo many times. I got into Deem Spencer's work when I saw the video and heard the song "Today, We Sat." I don't recall hearing anything before that song, so I believe I was just browsing through suggestions on Youtube and found that video, then went to his instagram...or I saw his Instagram page on the day he was talking about the video and checked it out. Regardless, it was the day it was released and I've been listening to his songs (and making vids about them) ever since. Here's me talking about the songs in order on the playlist and then giving them a 1-10 (10 being 'amazing') and where they fall for me (the best song, worse song etc.)

1. There Was Time Before Us

The opening to this song with just the instruments and voice in the background...was a great way to start the album. It sounds like "The Beginning" and like it's preparing you to talk about a different time, really encapsulates the song and shows that brings out the title. The entire album's theme seems to be "time."

The song is Deem Spencer's style. Low rap but not rap, like he's trying to tell a story and music just happens to be in the background. He goes pretty fast in a chill way (he's going through the order of events much in a "this happened, that happened, but I'm not slowing down for you way). And it took me a few listens to just to catch on to most of the words, then I had to look at the lyrics for this breakdown instead of just listening for fun ha.

"Fell in love, cold November, Open Hand, Soul Command..." Note: It does get a bit explicit with the "Beat the pussy. Have her swallow kid at her father crib"

The song talks about a relationship that ended, and suggests another guy got with her, and though he smokes to suppress those feelings...he realizes he had to grow up and needed to become successful. It mentions "Satan." and you can really tell where this album is going with its references due to the song titles and references.

But then he stops, and lets a different, and cute beat go before hopping back on with a slow but still mumbled way of explaining things.

The story continues saying her moving on and him being without her has made him a bitter person.

I like his voice. The story was sad but the way he delivered it made it sound less like a "sad song" and more like a song you just put on to chill to even if you've related to the lyrics before. The lyrics were alright, but the beats and cutoff at the end were the best part.

We'll give this a solid: 5/10 because I know there's better and it just didn't hit the spot lyrically, but was a solid start to the album.

2. Dirt

"Dirt" has a long opening instrumental for a song that only lasts for 1 min and 35 seconds. I thought it'd just continue for the whole time, but then his voice comes in all calm and sing songy as he drags out the ends of "alone."

In this song, he's still talking about being your own person and having things weighing you down. But, it makes you think, is he speaking about himself, and what does he mean by this? Are we expanding what we think of time or are we taking your metaphors and applying them to today/right now?

"I died alone in my past"

Another biblical reference can be found in it when he goes...

"'Fresh Fruit' All the Serpent Had to say. Whole Species is hurting. Sad to say"

Which is talking about the Adam and Eve eating the fruit because of the serpent, and then humanity suffering due to their decision long after.

Dirt is one I don't usually replay, but not because it's bad. It's just not my type of go-to on the album as it's so short and the lyrics aren't the best. Though, it does hit more when I'm not in the best mood.

We'll give it a 4.5/10 (subject to change when I'm sad again ha) because I dig references and him making me think & feel a bit more. But, shorter songs need more of punch imo. Something that stands out.

3. Eve's T*****s

Okaaaay we're going all in with the time before our time and biblical references here.

Now this one has my favorite opening lyrics. As soon as it gets to...

"I wanna come back as a small leaf...covering Eve's titties and I save the world by whispering..."

(loose lyrics because I didn't wanna include all of 'em, and you should listen)

He's really getting into the album's themes here. Love, time before time, creating love within a specific time period, and then the relationship ending as things have since the beginning of time.

He talks about real life and how things can be difficult/dangerous, while talking about spirituality and religion.

"Home is where elephants in the room stay at"..."I know Gods that's athiest"

He is, or at least the character speaking, has been hurt before and does not trust that their love will not end nor does he feel like it is real.

I just cuffed her for the summer"..."She thought I was her come up" "Ain't no hoe here I do trust"

I could go on and on about this song. It's my favorite one due to its symbolism and how relatable it is ("Home is where elephants in the room stay at" got it). It also has the second best opening beat. Just sounds like a song you'd cruise on your board to (I've done this, truly chill) or bike to while the sun sets. The drums are my favorite part.

10/10 easily

4. Moonflower

Oh, this song has a chorus AND it features someone(Slyy Cooper). The first song with either of those.

The song song starts off talking about how their loved one died, but their mail is still being sent to their home. It's a pretty sad, opening but it doesn't necessarily say the person has passed away, just "left" and that they have a "new foreign address." But, he goes on to say that he wants to be next to him right now. And that's what people feel when they lose someone they love. They wish they could just be beside them again and may beg for someone/something to give them that chance again.

The chorus is one you'd repeat as you open the fridge, or walk around. It gets stuck in your head and you just wanna shout the lyrics.

"Everybody needs somebody who they want to moonwalk forever"

And y'know what? It's sad (because not everyone can moonwalk forever) and true. We want those we love to stay and everyone needs someone they care about to that extent, someone who they love and who loves them. But, what does "moonwalk forever" mean? Because when people think about death they think of their loved ones still dancing and living it up wherever they went. This song talks about lost, heartache, and time being something you can't get back but hurts you all the same, just as the others did.

My favorite part (besides the hook) is the final chorus that's going on with Slyy Cooper rapping at the same time. I love overlays and the more sounds you add at once...hey, you got me.

Well that'll give this a 9/10. Not a 10/10, but I'll admit that I've overlooked this one till today.

rap
2

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.