Beat logo

We're Living in a Golden Age of Music

There is so much music right now

By Evan DeubnerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Illustration by Dieter_G on Pixabay

The inclusivity the internet provides gives unprecedented access to creative minds from around the world. New genres get created because an artist in Israel who listens to metal bands from France influenced someone in Greece.

Which is why I die a little inside, anytime someone asks, “Why isn’t music any good anymore?”

My preferred response has ranged from anger and blame; “You’re listening to the wrong music!”, helpful and optimistic; “I can find new music right now that you will love.”, to suspicious elitist; “Do you even know what proper music sounds like?”

I found two things that cause this communal belief.

Rock Stations — People believe the music they hear on the radio is the epitome of the current sound. They think only the most talented make it to broadcast radio. When people find those artists aren’t any good, they assume that’s the best we’ve got. Hence; Music is no longer good.

Surface Dwellers — Most internet users stick to the surface. They never go past the first google page. They always click on suggested content on YouTube. And they mindlessly scroll through Facebook feeds with abandon. People are being told what to listen to and they never question it.

Let’s Talk About Rock Stations

For years, I passively listened to rock stations. Then one day, I couldn’t listen to another goddamn AC/DC song. I’ve been adamant, ever since, about my disinterest in broadcast radio, outside NPR, and the Kansas City Chiefs.

Why hasn’t mainstream music changed? Everything else certainly has. The way we produce, market, and take advantage of increased scope and availability is entirely different. But we still have the worst bands in the world representing all known music.

And yes, I know; It’s about the money.

It always is. That’s fine. I don’t care if they make a shitload of money. Just don’t scar the rest of the world’s music.

I also realize, not all bands heard on the radio are garbage. And even if I think a band is garbage, that doesn’t mean someone else doesn’t genuinely love their music. Which I wholeheartedly support, because if you love their music, then you’re not of the understanding that, “Music isn’t any good anymore.”

I’m not here to push my brand of music on anyone. I only want people to love the music they’re listening to. Those who are unsatisfied by garbage rock bands on the radio continue listening to this music they hate. They tell the world that the best music we offer just isn’t that good, then they keep listening anyway.

I have a problem with that.

Let’s Talk About The Internet

What we’re facing with our beloved internet reaches beyond media and entertainment alone. Companies have locked in targeted advertising so well, they alter human behavior so an individual will stay within expected metrics.¹

I wrote an article linking the Opioid epidemic to Facebook and other social media sites that engage in targeted advertising.²

Listening to music is a dynamic experience with limitless possibilities. In this world of countless genres and sub-genres, one can lose themself in a winding rabbit’s hole while jumping from artist to artist; taking in each track or album as a brand new life experience.

The Third Thing

Even if an individual doesn’t listen to rock stations and isn’t being manipulated by social media, there is one more factor that hinders musical growth; Humans are hard-wired to choose quick and easy paths to familiarity.³

This is especially true when we can’t foresee the outcome. If we make no guarantee, the chance of taking difficult risks becomes slim.⁴

Regarding music, someone who has never found amazing underground albums by themselves will not have the passion or patience to listen and search for longer than a few minutes.

Check out this paper in references below.⁵ It talks about reasons people seek and purchase new rock music. It also goes into details about different musical experiences. Fascinating stuff!

My Passion Driven Life

I love playing and recording music. My true musical passion is matching music to other people, though. I spent a lot of time in Quora guiding new music to people; I love the feeling when someone becomes shocked at how good something is. Here’s one such conversation with a girl who loves the Talking Heads.

“My favorite song is “Flying” by Living Color, which is fairly modern, but I’m a huge fan of 1970’s folk rock and 80’s new wave like The Fixx, Talk Talk and Thompson Twins. My favorite band is The Talking Heads. I try to search for similar music online but it seems more and more these days like it’s impossible. . . . when I try to find similar songs, Google keeps taking me to “Vevo’s YouTube” with Miley Cyrus and Katy Perry….”

I sent her this album.

Leather Teeth (Full Album) by Carpenter Brut on YouTube

Her response to this album made my day.

“Thanks so much for the link — I’ve never heard Carpenter Brut’s stuff before but I’m listening to it right now and it has so many familiar sounds — it has me thinking of The Styx, Pearl Jam, The Knack, so many other bands, it’s amazing! I’d love to see a radio station play this stuff….”

We see all three factors in play. She only saw what google showed her on the surface. The radio gets mentioned as being disappointing, which probably caused her to become stuck with a handful of bands from the past because it’s comfortable. The girl was open-minded and ready for new music in the end, though.

Endgame Trailer

Despite my best efforts, people still ask, “Why isn’t music good anymore?” I just hope I can instill a little faith in people that if someone asks that question, they haven’t been trying very hard. So give them a nudge. Share an album that you love with someone. Listen to a genre you’ve never heard before. Get lost listening to a concept album in its entirety. Music is fun; Music is life.

Take care, and stay safe.

References

  1. ScienceDaily|Targeted online ads actually change how you view yourself by Ohio State University
  2. Medium|Did I Relapse Because of a Facebook Algorithm? by ET Deubner
  3. StudyFinds|Humans are ‘hard-wired’ to pick the easiest path possible by Charles Hartwell
  4. Quartz|People don’t like to take risks...don’t want to deal with uncertainty by Dylan Walsh|Insights by Stanford Business
  5. Journal of Consumer Research|An Exploratory Study of the Responses and Relationships Involved in the Evaluation of, and in the Intention to Purchase New Rock Music by Lacher, Kathleen T., and Richard Mizerski.

Canonical Link - Originally published in Fuck Niches on Medium

literature
Like

About the Creator

Evan Deubner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.