Beat logo

VILLAIN Interview: The Versatile Artist Discusses Recent Studio Work, Musical Style and More

VILLAIN’s EP, ‘Bank Robber’ is available to stream now.

By Nathan SartainPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
1

It has been nearly two years since VILLAIN released Bank Robber, his sonically diverse, short-form release that seemed to almost guarantee imminent success. Although it was the artist’s first EP there was a tangible maturity weaved into each track, and a captivating sense of raw musicality evident throughout that simply cannot be trained.

Using his fluency in both English and Korean to weave intricate verses full of clever lyricism and smooth flow, tracks like “Manitto” stood out as amongst some of his finest pieces of work that could easily catapult him to the industry’s apex. Showing off his sleek, idiosyncratic vocal sensibilities alongside lines about how villains can really be anti-heroes, it’s an abrasive-yet-tightly produced, anthemic introduction to the young artist.

But, like many great artists, there’s another side to his expertise too. “A Piece of Work,” a ballad stripped-back right to just a somber piano melody and VILLAIN’s vocals, is a tour-de-force of intense vehemence. Lyrically breathtaking, the 22-year-old takes the listener on a poignant journey through his psyche, cementing himself as a talent who can effortlessly switch between confident, arena-made bangers to soulful, melodic numbers grounded in real-world feelings.

And, although the immediacy of VILLAIN’s success has somewhat been put on hold in the 20-or-so months that have seen no official releases, the rising star now finds himself more than ready to step back into the limelight. Undoubtedly motivated for the challenges to come, the 22-year-old returned a month ago on SoundCloud and YouTube, participating in the “Dora Maar” contest, in which singers were tasked to cover the OnlyOneOf song in English. It may not have been an elaborate return full of splendour, but in using his own lyrics for his entry into the competition, it served as a welcome reminder of the artist’s skill set and further proved just how much of an asset he can be to an industry that is bustling with emerging talents.

Now busy in the studio doing what comes naturally to him, we spoke to VILLAIN on how these sessions are going, how he prefers to work, and much more.

Nathan Sartain: Firstly, with a lot going on for you personally as well as all that is happening globally, it feels timely to open with a simple question: how are you doing?

VILLAIN: Hello sir, it’s very nice to talk to you. I’m very well, thank you for asking. I hope you and your family are all keeping safe and staying healthy as well.

Secondly, before we swiftly move on, is there anything you’d like to say regarding recent speculations claiming that you are no long part of the label Planetarium Records?

Sure. Well I guess it’s not a secret that something has been going on for a while now. I had promised my fans new music by last summer, but couldn’t keep that promise. I’m no longer on their shows or anything for that matter. As much as I hate to admit, there’s always an absolute unbreakable vow called a contract to everything I do and how I move. So although I’ve been ready to address it for a while now, it seems as though the situation isn’t just yet. But I feel like as soon as I complete pushing through this, I can pretty much push through anything from then on.

Thank you. On to more enjoyable topics. To start with, we understand you’ve been in and out of the recording studio lately, how has that been going?

Most of the times, I prefer to work alone during the production and it’s my private studio. There’s a booth for writing & recording, a section with a huge mirror for fitting & rehearsals, a private lounge for me to chill & work out in, and a public area for business meetings. It’s not necessarily large but basically has everything I need to charge up before I bounce, so naturally, being at the studio has been helping me a lot with the social distancing all along even way before this pandemic broke out.

To add to that, how have you found yourself approaching both writing and recording songs in these sessions?

These days, I’m feeling some type of way for a lot of things but not necessarily in a negative way. As far as my conscience goes, I’ve always just been gifted at turning all of my influences into musical fuel, so taking advantage of all that plus my obsession towards ruthless hustle have only been doing me right at the studio so far.

Additionally, have these sessions been independent, or have you worked with say other producers or collaborators?

My production, nine times out of ten, is completely private. I produce, write, record, choreograph, and perform all the music completely by myself. The justice of that is, my obsession during production and rehearsal is to leave no possible scenarios out. For instance, when I write music or when I choose sounds and cut a track, I go through at least 10K takes and options. If the music is a kingdom, I’m the king and all the scenarios are its people. I simply just want to be the fairest king of all and grant all people with the same opportunities. However, even just ‘skimming’ through all those options and designating the chosen one is challenging enough, so I figured a couple more heads in the game would be way too much for me. When I collaborate with other artists, they’re usually for mixing/mastering or features from other artists. When I send the tracks over for their verses, my part is already cut and done. Other than that, I sometimes have some instrumentalists come in to record instruments that aren’t emulated so well on virtual instruments.

During your recent time spent in the studio, what’s been inspiring you, particularly considering there is no doubt a lot of potential subject material to write about?

There’s a lot that I inspire from and the biggest one is other artists that I look up to. When I produce a record, I always put myself in a mental stance where I imagine that I’m in the studio with them, competing on who’s got more bangers and more dope records. Of course, I don’t always win but that mindset always inspires me to keep on pushing for more and more hocus pocus.

Lyrically, it’s obvious, particularly on songs such as “Manitto,” that you do not shy away from being 100% truthful nor wish to sugarcoat things. For you, how essential is it that you express yourself without any compromise when it comes to your music? 

Keeping it real is dope but I believe just keeping it ‘realistic’ is more than enough. Nowadays what’s more crucial to me is “am I saying this in a way that no other artists have ever done before?” If a lyric lacks in that criteria, that just means it’s already been worded that way before and needs to be reassessed if it wants to make the cut.

You stated that you best express yourself through music. Just how important is music to you then?

Music has been & is always definitely the most passionate thing for me to do, and it will stay that way for what seems like forever. But that may or may not be different in the next 20, 30 years. Of course I plan on pursuing my career until I run out of words and melodies for as long as I possibly can upgrade & protect, but I doubt it’ll last literally forever. I put and leave it all in the music 9 to 5 all day every day, but I’m also always ready to pull out of this shine and glory when life needs me to.

And, for a potentially new listener, how would you personally explain your style?

Pop music with hip-hop’s attitude. 

For now, some of your new material will be uploaded to SoundCloud. How does it move back to a grassroots approach to music in terms of uploading it on a free-to-use platform such as that?

I feed the people around me with my records and for anyone who does the same, releasing his or her music on a free platform is without a doubt highly consuming. But I also can’t leave the fans hanging. I’m definitely contemplating on fresh new ways to get people to anticipate on my new music. Platforms such as Soundcloud, Youtube and even TikTok will be used as well. If you’re one of the few fans, following them in advance will be a wise move.

Furthermore, now that you’ve had experience touring numerous places around the world, has your perspective on music changed at all?

Having the mere knowledge of fans vibing out to my music from overseas and actually witnessing hundreds of people screaming every single words to my music at my face is a whole another level of understanding for my craft. The tours helped me grow an even greater attachment & love towards performing and presenting my music in terms of not only audio but visual-wise as well. 

As we come towards the end of the interview, what are your immediate goals, whether they be musical or personal?

Right now, I’m looking around for a new crib and I plan to move my studio into it as well. I hope I find the right one soon.

Similarly, if there is one wish you could have for the rest of 2020, is there anything you’d like to come true?

#freevillain

And finally, is there anything else you’d like to say?

Trust me when I say, I got plans. I’ll be back like I never left.

You can stream VILLAIN’s Bank Robber EP now, and follow the rest of his socials at the links below.

interview
1

About the Creator

Nathan Sartain

A lifelong music fan with diverse taste.

Email - [email protected]

Twitter - @nathan_sartain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.