Beat logo

Uplift the Playlist

Live Show

By Radiance Published 11 months ago 7 min read
Like

Greetings Party Goers! Welcome to Radiance Music of Fame. Here we will travel down memory lane, enjoying Radiance’s most appraised music playlist. Enjoy first her childhood favorite Hero by Mariah Carey. We all know it, sing along. We will play the song after these messages. (Radiance speaks) Hey everyone, it’s your favorite host Radiance. How yall doing tonight? (crowd goes wild) Sounds Good!

I was in love with Hero growing up, it literally shaped my childhood in a positive way. Life for me hasn’t been a Crystal Stair. I would listen to Hero on repeat several times to help me to go to sleep. I grew up in a chaotic abusive home. So, at night, I would play Hero to help me drift off into a peaceful safe dreamland. Before I understood what words of affirmations were, I practiced it. Words of affirmation are powerful. I always focused on keeping positive thoughts flowing through my mind. With my household family, it was easy to get surrounded in a sea of negativity. They were vultures constantly pulling at my feet. So, this song helped me keep a positive outlook on life. With Hero, I knew that I could grow up to be anything I desired to be. I was very successful and polished in school. I received many honors and was always on the Honor Roll, at school the teacher and other parents doted over me. But at home, it was a completely different picture. At home I was treated like public enemy number one. For me to say nice things about myself is good, but it would have been nice to hear it out loud sometimes. So, when I discovered Hero by Mariah Carey, this song meant everything to me.

I needed to hear something good about myself. Hero tasted like trust to me. Hero smelled like consistency to me. Hero sounded like respect to me. Hero looked like freedom to me. Hero felt like HOME to me. I needed this song at an early age, if not for Mariah Carey’s Hero my mental health would have suffered tremendously as a child. Hero got into the very bone of me. In my core. In my essence. I ultimately became a Hero in my own life. So now, when facing challenges, I know that I can and will overcome them. To this day, I don’t have an outwardly physical support system, but what I possess the world cannot take away. I am my own support system. And this attitude has catapulted my aptitude. I owe my curated confidence to Hero. It has dangerously helped my life. To hear those words aloud changed the trajectory of my life. I am extremely grateful Mariah Carey released this abundant song. It is and was life changing.

The next song up is Wake Up Everybody by Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes. You probably heard this song before without realizing it. It’s a banger in its own divine right. Hit it DJ! Wait DJ. Radiance go ahead and introduce this song to us. (Radiance Speaks) I remember the pristine days of riding with my Dad to head-start. It was only a two-minute drive. We used to leave Home early so I could go to the gas station across the street. It was Epic. It was the only time I could spend with my dad alone. I loved every minute of it. I soaked it all up. There were other kids in the house, so getting Daddy’s attention was imperative. My morning allowance was $3 to $5. I would grab the Cash, make a mad dash into the store, and set my eyes on my favorite snacks. Usually the red Doritos, a hug juice, and a Snicker’s candy bar were my go-to. Then I would intelligently (Cashiers were usually surprised I could count money so well) pay for my items and jump back into the car. Then my Dad would pull off swiftly like he’s a Fast a & Furious paid Driver. (so fun but totally unnecessary LOL) It was our little secret. I didn’t dare tell my siblings. Then they would have stolen my blissful morning moments. This became our morning ritual. Subconsciously neither one of us took these moments for granted. It was Our safe haven. It was quiet and peaceful. Accompanying our morning ritual, we listened to Wake up Everybody on the radio. I can’t remember the station number; it was a long time ago. (LOL)It was a perfect start to my school day. I knew I could do anything.

This song spoke volumes on education. I felt like I could grow up to be anyone I wanted to be. Education is important. It is at the core of my being. Learning sets the precedence of everything else in my life. I could become anything from a Writer, Teacher, to a Pharmacist. I love the positive vibes this song set for our day. With the help of Wake Up Everybody, I knew I would have an amazing day at school. I already loved school, so this song just made me love it even more. It solidified my perspective that education was of the utmost importance. I believed in the educational system. I believed that whatever I put my mind to I could surely do. I have always been a glass in half full kind of person. So, this song represents me and I represent it. Honestly, I did not know who sang it though, not until I researched it for this exact moment. (LOL) When I was younger, I just heard some great harmonic voices. Now I know them to be Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes, and I adore them. Alright, DJ Hit it!

This last song is no stranger to us. She sends chills up our spines. We love her. We will be playing one of her greatest hits. You Give Good Love by our very own Whitney Houston. Radiance tell us how special Whitney Houston is to you. Thanks, I love sharing this story about the world-renowned Whitney Houston. I like many of You, have always been a Whitney Houston FAN! I was rooting for Whitney during her golden years and her years in recovery. Her battle with addiction and mental health didn’t taint my personal views of Whitney at all. Since 2012, I have tried not to think of Whitney’s death at all. I only wanted the fond, positive, and uplifting memories in my mind. Six years later, Whitney was heavily on my mind and popped up in my dream. And her song You Give Good Love resonated with me a lot. I had always enjoyed this song. But now, this song made me feel closer to Whitney than I had felt in such a long time. I’m not sure why this song sticks out to me. But the song became SO vivid. This song became my National Anthem for Whitney Houston. Everything about the song heightened my sense of awareness. As the video starts with Whitney’s lips humming, I could feel her breath.

Weird and beautiful at the same time. I know that she is deceased, but I can feel her breath of Life. Like Whitney is letting me know that she is fine and safe on the other side. I was glad to know she transitioned well. She lived such a beautiful, complicated life. If my inclination is correct, I feel proud to connect to Whitey Houston in this way. This is profound. Her song You Give Good Love vibrates throughout my whole body. It gives me more than chills. And now, to this day, I listen to You Give Good Love on a weekly basis. It gives me the feeling that I too will fall compassionately in love one day. Love is just moving throughout my body differently. Love is such a beautiful experience. And I will experience this one day soon. Love makes life worth living. Love makes time stand still and continuous flow at the same time. Whitney reminded me of this. Her song gently rocked me in a loving safety net when I was not feeling my best. I am forever Grateful! Thanks Whit. (Radiance sheds a tear). Enjoy Fans!

(Song ends)

Thanks everyone for coming out to experience Radiance’s Music Playlist played Live. You have been a great crowd. Have amazing night! For those who paid for the VIP afterparty, Radiance and her team are heading over there now to sign autographs and take pictures. Don’t be Late! Have a good night! And drive safely!

YouTube Playlist links

Mariah Carey- Hero

https://youtu.be/0IA3ZvCkRkQ

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes

https://youtu.be/axmBtBOlbVU

Whitney Houston

https://youtu.be/dY7PmX6Oz58

celebritiesart90s music80s music
Like

About the Creator

Radiance

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.