Beat logo

Up High the new single by Griffon

Griffon is a DJ | Producer from Durham, UK

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Up High is taken from Griffon’s 1st album.

Created as an upbeat dance track, it contains a rolling heavy bassline & high energy synths that drop into a melodic vocal hook with house piano.

Griffon likes to experiment with electronic sounds and you will find many atmospheric elements going on in the background of his tracks which add to that big room feel.

It is currently being promoted via all social media platforms with play on local radio stations and BBC Radio which was well received.

Q: Share a little about yourself and where you are from?

[Griffon] I’m a Producer & DJ, born in the North East UK, in a place called Durham. I have been creating music for around 10 years and since lockdown have been spending much more time in the studio!

Q: How would you describe your music?

[Griffon] I’d say it’s a true festival vibe, I really love that Big Room sound, it’s a powerful genre and completely lift your spirits and emotions. Nothing better than creating an uplifting vocal leading to a buildup and bouncy drop to get those feet stompin! I’ve started to find my genre with ‘Shine’ and ‘Up High’.

I’ve just finished another 6 tracks that fit the Big Room genre, cannot wait to release these early 2022!

Q: You recently released your single ‘Up High.’ Can you tell us a little about this song?

[Griffon] It’s another track that was created around an atmospheric vocal, lots of heavy synths, space synths and a heavy beat that leads into a beautiful house piano with vocal! I’m loving my journey in creating these big room tracks.

Q: 2021 seems to be a creative year for you with five new singles. Do these songs play off each other or stand alone?

[Griffon] Two of them were club edits, but yes I’ve released 5. The tracks are all a bit different and I’m finding my creative style as I go on, but am really attracted to the Big Room sound with vocal which you will find is common in each track.

Q: Are there any challenging aspects to creating and/or recording your music?

[Griffon] Sometimes I can sit for hours with a bassline or vocal but once I start building the arrangement it seems to come together. If I ever get a mental block I just go way and come back! Sometimes even after a good sleep! It can reset you and I would recommend this to fellow Producers.

Q: Do you plan to release one song at a time, or do you have plans to work on an Ep or album?

[Griffon] I have 6 new tracks mastered and ready to go, they will be going out from the end of January 2022, 1 every two weeks! By that time I’ll probably have another 6. They recommend once a month as it takes that long to promote but I’m keen to get it out there for people to listen to!

Q: Would you like to collaborate with anyone? If so, who and why?

[Griffon] I’m really liking the Bassjackers at the moment, there are not many other artists keeping the Big Room sound alive, so anyone contributing to that genre I would support! Happy to work with most Producers on EDM though.

Q: What strengths do you believe make a great musician/producer?

[Griffon] Patience is a virtue, sometimes it takes days to create a track, sometimes hours so don’t get frustrated if it’s not working out. Like I said earlier take a break or get someone else to have a listen and give an honest opinion.

Q: Has your musical journey had a deliberate direction, or did it simply evolve in whatever direction it found?

[Griffon] It has just evolved, I was originally creating deep house & electronica for the Griffon Project, but now I am drawn towards that Big Room sound.

Q: What is the best song you ever released and why?

[Griffon] Not sure yet, I’ve only released 3 so to date probably ‘Up High’, I have some awesome new releases coming in 2022 though.

My Spinnin’ Records submission for the recent ‘Masked Producer’ Competition was also a favorite release, it’s a track called ‘Let it Out’. You can find that on my SoundCloud, it’s had some really positive feedback.

I really hope my followers stay with me as I have some great tracks in the making!

Q: What song do fans seem to favor?

[Griffon] ‘Let it Out’ as my Spinnin’ Records, competition entry and ‘Up High’ as a release.

Q: What types of satisfaction do you get from music?

[Griffon] It really lets you explore you creativity and when the feedback comes it’s a great buzz. I love the fact people are listening and dancing to my tracks!

Q: Has your style changed over the years?

[Griffon] I love creating in most genres, I’d say I’ve switched from Deep House to Big Room, which I’m loving at the moment.

Q: What would you say are some characteristics of great music?

[Griffon] Catchy hook vocals and unique sounds, with atmosphere going on the back ground, you know some ear candy. I like to use a lot of space type noises to create this white noise.

For Big Room though it has to be the drop!

Q: Is it important to listen to older music and/or various genres to create new music?

[Griffon] Of course, I listen to every thing a complete wide range of music, if I here a catchy riff, bassline or vocal, I’ll try to work out the chords or sample and play around with the vocal. We wouldn’t be where we are today if we didn’t recycle the old stuff in some way!

Q: What do you value more, creativity, or perfect execution?

[Griffon] 100% Creativity is key, don’t worry about being perfect until the end, get your draft and arrangement done then fine tune.

Q: How organized are you on a scale of 1-10?

[Griffon] Some days 10, some days 1 are we not all human like that!

Also depends on your mood and if you’re in the zone, things get boxed off and done quickly if that’s the case.

Q: What’s more important to you, fame, or credibility?

[Griffon] I just want to create and play music for people to enjoy, credibility is more important than fame to me. I’d DJ every night if I could just for the atmosphere, when people are dancing to one of your own tracks and enjoying themselves, that’s the reward right there!

Q: What does the future hold for you?

[Griffon] I’m going to keep producing and DJing forever, 2022 is going to be busy for me producing tracks.

I’d also like to make more time and have a permanent residency as a DJ here in the UK but would also like to travel and do more festivals across the world!

Q: Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

[Griffon] Nothing I can think of! It’s been great talking with you Frankie and as always look forward to working with you in getting my music out there :)

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.