Beat logo

Underrated Female Artists In The Music Industry

Ever get tired of the same three songs? Let me put you on...

By Jordan BarreraPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Underrated Female Artists In The Music Industry
Photo by Soundtrap on Unsplash

It fascinates me how there are so many artists in the music industry. How many genres there are and how there is something for everybody. These are a couple of my favorite underrated artists and one not so underrated artists. If you are into R&B and Soul then these are the artists for you. If you don’t have these artists in your playlist, all I’m going to ask you is, why? These artists are some of the most talented and underrated artists. I’m here today to put you onto some very talented women in the music industry.

First, we will start off with my personal go to, H.E.R. She is such a talented singer, song writer. She has music for pretty much every playlist, whether it is a late night drive playlist. Or, your carpool karaoke playlist. My personal favorite is her song Focus, it has such a chill vibe to it. But, I can’t help singing along every time I hear it.

Another artist that you should definitely consider adding to your playlist is Jorja Smith. She has such a calming voice. The way she tells a story through her songs not to mention the way she executes them. It is absolutely breathtaking, when I first heard her song Carry Me Home. I was at a complete loss for words. She has some amazing chill songs where you can just enjoy her beautiful voice.

Next I think we should go with another super underrated artist which is Jaz Karis. Her songs have such an amazing vibe. I would definitely add her to my carpool karaoke playlist. All I have to say when it comes to her is that she has such an amazing voice. Now I know I have been saying that with all of the artists I’ve mentioned. But, it is true they are all super talented. However, Jaz has such a coffee shop vibe where you just want to go drink some coffee and read a book (or tea if that is what you prefer). Jaz’s song Pretty Dreamer is the song that put me onto her. Therefore, I feel it is only fitting to try and put you on to that song.

Real quick let's talk about Alicia Keys. She has some great music, not to mention she is an amazing pianist. I would put her songs onto my throwback playlist, maybe even my carpool karaoke playlist. Now if you only listen to My Boo by her and Usher then you’re probably like, really? But, yes she has even more good music. Some of my personal favorites are Falling, If I Ain’t Got You, and Girl on Fire. Those are just some of my favorite songs by Mrs.Keys.

Now let's talk about Mahalia. She is another underrated artist that I think more people should listen to too. My personal favorites include What You Did ft. Ella Mai, Square 1, and I Remember just to mention a few. She also featured on a song called No One But You by Justin Nozuka. That song is absolutely beautiful. Their voices went together so well, this song left me wanting more from them. Although I didn’t know who Justin Nozuka was before I’m glad I do now.

Our last artist for today is going to be SWV. This girl group is amazing and I think everyone should go listen to their song Weak. It is a great throwback and sing along song. Everyone should listen to this song at least once. I actually think that you should at least give all of these artists a chance. They have some of the best voices and some of the best songs.

celebrities
5

About the Creator

Jordan Barrera

“𝔼𝕧𝕖𝕣𝕪𝕠𝕟𝕖 𝕊𝕙𝕠𝕦𝕝𝕕 𝔹𝕖 𝔸𝕓𝕝𝕖 𝕋𝕠 𝔻𝕠 𝕆𝕟𝕖 ℂ𝕒𝕣𝕕 𝕋𝕣𝕚𝕔𝕜, 𝕋𝕖𝕝𝕝 𝕋𝕨𝕠 𝕁𝕠𝕜𝕖𝕤, 𝔸𝕟𝕕 ℝ𝕖𝕔𝕚𝕥𝕖 𝕋𝕙𝕣𝕖𝕖 ℙ𝕠𝕖𝕞𝕤, 𝕀𝕟 ℂ𝕒𝕤𝕖 𝕋𝕙𝕖𝕪 𝔸𝕣𝕖 𝔼𝕧𝕖𝕣 𝕋𝕣𝕒𝕡𝕡𝕖𝕕 𝕀𝕟 𝔸𝕟 𝔼𝕝𝕖𝕧𝕒𝕥𝕠𝕣.“

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.