Beat logo

underrated and miscategorized women in music

Week 3, Kesha (Sebert)

By Raine fielderPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
heartbreaking rendition because this was such a hard time for her.

Kesha is about more than just glitter and partying, and she isn't just a product of some record label who can't sing or make music.

I remember when I first heard Kesha sing, but I didn't know who she was. It was in "right round" by flo-rida, and I thought, "that girl sings good". I liked her voice and she's the only reason I ever listened to that song. Then, she started putting out several songs of her own and I found out that she was the girl on "right round".

Kesha used to use auto-tune a lot, which I don't usually like, or approve of, but in her songs the auto-tune is not to correct vocals, or fake a good voice where there isn't one. She uses it as an artistic choice, just like someone adding a banjo, or something. She doesn't need auto-tune to sound decent.

There is a difference in using auto-tune as a deception for a good vocal, and just using it as an artistic choice. In her songs it is very pronounced that there is auto-tune, meaning she isn't trying to hide that it is being used.

I know she can sing well, because I have heard several parts of her songs that don't have it, and have heard her sing live. Not only in concerts because you can use auto-tune when singing live, they have mics for that. But I have heard her sing in her living room with no mic, she was just singing some stuff she wrote. She has a great bluesy, yodel tone. And then on her new album she doesn't use it.

She also can play the piano and guitar.

I watched the short lived show she had on MTV, "crazy beautiful life" if you didn't see the show, I suggest you find the episodes on youtube or something to see how record companies treat even their successful artists. Seeing it made me so mad, and this is why Kesha faded out for a while, they black ball people who won't do exactly what they tell them to, even if the artist's ideas and songs are a million times better than theirs.

And she does write, not only most/all her own songs, she has written several songs for other artists, there are some listed in this interesting article: http://buzzworthy.mtv.com/2012/01/12/kesha-songwriting-genius/

Kesha's mom is also a songwriter who helps her write her songs, they are both good at it. As a songwriter myself, I will say that it's harder (at least for me) to write a fun song, a good dance song. Because as a writer, I am compelled to write what I feel, and if it isn't a song about God, or being sad or angry, what do you write about? Kesha wrote several songs about fun times, but even though they are somewhat shallow, they are far from nonsense most of the time.

Like the song "sleazy", it rings true for me, and probably most girls, that we get very sick of being told by guys about their jobs, or how much money they have. It makes me sick just thinking about it to be honest. Then there's "dinosaur" a song about old men that hit on young girls, and the song is shaming them for that. And "blah blah blah" which is a silly and crass song but one line I love is when she says "baby shut up, I'm in love.... with this song" which is usually true for me, if I'm listening to a good song and some random dude is trying to flirt with me, it's really annoying.

But she also does write some deep heartfelt songs. She's been through a lot but even before all this she was deep. She had a song called "dancing with tears in my eyes" and "the harold song".

As for her "partying" ways... kesha has said that she's "fun as b-lls, and a walking good time" but "I'm not getting wasted all the time, and falling out of clubs, you don't have to get drunk or be high to have fun"

(I chose to leave out certain issues because she wants everyone to forget that person's name so I'm pretending like he never existed because he's not worth the time or attention.)

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Raine fielder

Raine has been writing poetry since she was in seventh grade. She has written several poems, song lyrics, short stories and five books. Writing has been her passion for her whole life.

https://linktr.ee/RaineFielder

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.