Beat logo

trying in spite of myself to rank all 12 songs off of "Fine Line"

over a year after its debut.

By hannah irelanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

So, I’ve waited this long to write an article like this because it’s taken me this long to even begin to make a final ranking of Harry Styles’s most recent album, “Fine Line,” released December 13th on 2019. Let’s be completely clear: it’s taken me over a year to determine my final ranking of this masterpiece, so consider yourselves lucky that you’re even getting this much out of me.

This album is a masterpiece. (Yes, I said this about HS1 too, but that’s not the point.)

Not only have we been gifted Harry’s master vocals, but we’ve been given a real insight into Harry’s personal existence. More importantly, the heartbreak that Harry’s endured the last several months. This made for some real, raw music. Music that’s nearly impossible to rank, but we’re going to try nonetheless.

All-time favorite, the title track “Fine Line.”

I can probably count on one hand the amount of songs that make me feel the way this song does. This is the song I listen to right before falling asleep each night. It’s that one thing, above everything else, that can ground me when reality slips.

A very close second, “Falling.”

Heartbreaking records hit me differently, simply because heartbreak is not something I’ve experienced in the classic sense. I haven’t experienced a universe-shaking breakup or something comparable, but my heart has been broken. My heart has been through sad and difficult times. These are the songs and moments that make it a little stronger.

The ultimate road trip jam, “Golden.”

Every time I’m in the car, this is the first song I play. If I close my eyes and listen closely, this is the song that takes me to a place a lot calmer than here. It takes me to a quiet beach, a lovely sunset, and a beautiful memory.

One of the saddest songs I’ve ever heard, “Cherry.”

No one (and I truly mean no one) will ever convince me that the voicemail portion of this song ISN’T the most beautiful piece of art to ever be added to a song ever. This song, as raw as it is, gives us such a beautiful journal entry-type story to enjoy.

An underrated masterpiece, “To Be So Lonely.”

I remember how much this song was not liked when it was first released. I, on the other hand, heard a very authentic Harry from the very beginning. This song is soooo Harry. That alone can allow me to appreciate his creative genius.

A late-night soft jam, “Sunflower, Vol. 6.”

Okay, but for real, how freaking cute is this song? Who WOULDN”T want to dance in the kitchen at 3 in the morning while baking cookies to this song? Exactly.

The heartbroken rocker, “She.”

I’ll be honest, I have to be in a very specific mood to get the most out of this song, but when I’m in the zone, this song is the ONLY thing in the whole wide world that can satisfy.

The song that ushered us into the HS2 era, “Lights Up.”

I will always, always, always have the sweetest of memories that come with this song’s middle-of-the-night release. Waking up at two in the morning, being so tired that I was convinced I was dreaming, and waking up again at 7 only to relive it all over again.

The fish-loving “Adore You.”

Y'all know how cute this song is.Y’all know how much cuter the music video is too. This song is perfect for radio, and I’m so glad that this is the song that many non-Harry fans got to experience on the radio.

The poignant reminder, “Treat People With Kindness.”

I was slightly unsure of this the first time I heard it. However, with the help of a music video, TPWK is the most positive, uplifting, FUN song on the entire album. I can’t wait to scream this with Harry on tour, just saying.

The Fleetwood Mac-esque, “Canyon Moon.”

This is the perfect road trip song, I said what I said. Whenever I’m on the road, this song accompanies me. It’s the soundtrack of a traveler.

The fruity, “Watermelon Sugar.”

The soundtrack of my summer. What a brilliant, light song. I can’t say enough. Even at the bottom of my list, this song has my entire heart.

song reviews
4

About the Creator

hannah irelan

24, treat people with kindness, always support the small joys of others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.