Beat logo

Truth "The Summer"

Song/Artist Review

By Sandra Joseph Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

For those of you that don't know this new artist, his name is Truth. His real name is Brandon Hack, a singer-songwriter and producer born in Toronto,Canada. Formerly known as "Lil Truth" the "lil" appeared to be removed from his stage name in early 2021. Now for the breakdown, I discovered this song on Spotify's Discover Weekly playlist where I instantly fell in love with his sound and message. His vocals in the opening moments of the song gave me Michael Jackson type vibes; "baby girl put it all on me, damn girl put it all on me, it's not a game but I'm going all in, I put my heart and my soul in it". It continues on to an amazingly catchy hook professing the comparison for his love with the summer and a special girl. Overall I can make the accurate assumption that he's a lover boy and the soulful energy pushed out in this song makes it an instant underground pop classic. He infuses radio pop along with rnb and hiphop elements that make him unique in this era of music. As soon as I began listening to this song I felt hooked like I found the next best artist. Sometimes as a listener we find that one song that pulls us in wanting more and more. "The Summer" definitely has the replay factor, it's not too long but also not too short; clocking in at a moderate 2 minutes and 56 seconds. It's the perfect song to have on your playlist at any time of the year including winter although it's about summertime. During the cold winter days many of us dream about the warmth of summer, so it's a perfect song to just kick back and either reminisce to or look forward to your next summer while dreaming away.

I'd compare Truth to the likes of a young Enrique Iglesias. Both of these artists portray very emotional pop music with devilishly handsome good looks. This song has been added to my personal playlist that features other love songs that were released by each artist stated above. They both have sexy voices that are so dreamy, "fan girl moment". Truth being unique is what stands out most to me, his music is clean and non-explicit but he knows his way to wiggle in climactic sounds and phrases that have you in awe like "oh I think I know what he meant". Along with his beautifully written message, his voice is 1 of a kind and you can tell he's really being himself and no one else. "Everyone sounds the same these days" doesn't apply to him, that's how separated and comfortable he is in his lane.

To conclude, it's typically harder to judge independent artists and make critical assessments of their art vs. those with major label backings due to having bigger budgets and better resources. I find that with my assessment on this song, the quality is on par with my other favourite tracks from label signed artists, so he definitely gets points for that. The message is clear and is super relatable for anyone that's ever admired or loved someone else. Life is a game and we're all chasing something, whether it be love, happiness or any overall goal like financial freedom. The cover art is exceptionally creative in my opinion and overall captivating. I can see the co-relation between the song and it tying together neatly as one. Something I would really love to see is a music video to "The Summer" to bring this work of art completely to life. As stated earlier, his vocals are impressive and I can see this artist having a successful career in the mainstream music industry.

indie
Like

About the Creator

Sandra Joseph

music journalist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.