Beat logo

Top Three One Hit Wonders (That I Secretly Wish I Wrote)

Not so secret now...

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
6
Top Three One Hit Wonders (That I Secretly Wish I Wrote)
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Guys here's a little something different from me as I try to combat my most recent bout of writers block, as a Lyricist and Musician there are tonnes of songs I wish I'd written by well established Artists which are great, but I'm here to pay homage to the tracks that like all good things came at us hard and fast, only to disappear in the blink of an eye, but even though they aren't constantly on our minds day to day they are etched deep within our subconscious and we never really forget them.

"One Hit Wonders" are not a bad thing,

Here's my top 3-

Meredith Brooks- Bitch

A lot of people make the fatal mistake of assuming that Cheryl Crow sings this song, and how wrong they are!

Meredith Brooks did not make it big until she was 38 years old!

I take great comfort in that fact, because as a 32 year old with an E.P in the works it's a sigh of relief. It shows grit Meredith was not willing to accept that she was what some in the industry would call "past it". Instead she is out here proving that time is not a barrier and talent is not limitless, and indeed ageless.

Meredith changed the way we looked at the word Bitch with this absolute anthem taking the negatives that are associated with the word and flipping them on their heads

She manages to turn the word into a word of empowerment for all not just Women, a kind of a " here I am take it" kind of attitude, and I think everyone can get behind that no matter how they identify.

The Waterboys - The Whole Of The Moon

This song has always been a mainstay on my list of "Songs I wish I'd written", and I know that people interpret Lyrics in different ways I can only tell what the song and the lyrics mean to me.

I look at this song like a comparison of two people (maybe these people are in a relationship I don't know). On one hand one person just talks about things they want to achieve the other makes it happen you can find that sentiment in the lyric I spoke about wings/ you just flew or another example I saw the crescent / you saw the whole of The Moon. One person constantly sees the bigger picture the other is quite blinkered in their thinking, but they both admire and love each other equally, and that's what I get from it.

Anthemic? absolutely yes!

I've spent many an Evening stomping around a dancefloor arms waving above me singing it at the top of my lungs.

4 Non Blondes- What's Up?

From being my favourite song when I was 5 to being my go to karaoke track today, this song has stayed with me. I didn't really care about the subject matter when I was 5 all I cared about was Linda Perry's Top Hat and funny shaped Guitar, and how much I loved screaming along to the chorus in the back of the car!

Naturally as I have gotten older I have tried to search for the lyrics meaning the best I can. There are two ways you can look at them

the more obvious to me and I think other too is the state of The World with the cry of "What's going on?" a question people ask themselves daily especially in today's Covid climate no one knows if there coming or going. For that reason the lyrics will always stay relevant as long as there is chaos in the world.

The other way you can look at the song is from a mental health point of view. Wondering what's going in your own head. Accepting that you are going to have good days and bad, and always hoping for better. Unfortunately like most mental health issues have plagued my life and I am more inclined to believe the latter, This song has always given me hope for better days, and I'm a sucker for a good chorus!

There you have it!

It's my first time writing an article like this so please be gentle with me!

I hope now you go down a musical rabbit hole and discover just how great these songs are, or I hope I have helped you recapture your love for them!

Frankie

list
6

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole12 months ago

    I definitely love Bitch for the same reasons you do! 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.