Beat logo

Top 6 Trevor Something Songs

This anonymous artist has the songs that can soothe you soul and sway away to the sound.

By Samantha ParrishPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

The whole idea of music is that you want to put something on to listen to, you want to automatically feel that you are within the lyrics that are being sung. That artist to listen to that for an out-of-body experience and feel the music in your whole being, that artist is Trevor Something.

This anonymous artist has been inspiring to use his songs in my continual work as an author, anytime I have to start writing, I'll put on any one of his albums and the intricate and intimate songs he sings automatically puts me in a creative headspace.

I discovered this artist a year ago when I found his cover of Depeche Mode's Enjoy The Silence on the random compilation playlist that YouTube does to put in some new songs similar to the artists I listen to. This was surely a random find that ended up becoming apart of my favorite artists to listen to. When I found his album Trevor Something Does Not Exist, I listened to that hour long album for hours while I was writing. Every song was like listening to gold, because of how fresh, subtle yet poetic, and unique each song was created.

As I've expanded my library of his songs, It's been interesting to see how he's grown since his first album. I've never heard an artist like him that can maintain the identity of his sound while he is still going in his own musical evolution to make something different. Which is ironic that I say he's maintaining his identity while we still don't know his identity, hence his alias musician name, Trevor Something.

Upon listening to this artist you'll experience chills and feel yourself being immersed in the song situations he presents. I've chosen six songs for your hearing pleasure as you venture into the discography of this versatile singer.

1. Searching

This song incorporates the idea of knowing your future partner is out there and emphasizing that to the lyrics of being lost in space. Anytime I listen to this song I feel that I'm floating through space and trying to find someone and this future partner is trying to find me.

Often times love is predicted with the idea of the time and space with the whole phrase, "When the planets align". This would be the modern twist on that with techno and thought provoking lyrics.

This was the first song I had to go back to and listen to at least ten times. It had to be the first one I mentioned for this list because it's the staple of the kind of unique content that Trevor creates.

2. No One Cares

The obsession with proclamation, we can say all we want but there are selective people that will listen or none that will pay any attention at all. It almost makes you wonder what's the point? This song elaborates the idea about self-awareness to share to others when the truth of it, not many are going to pay attention or even care. I've had that thought myself when I post up anything on social media, and to know that not many are going to respect or acknowledge it. This is the first song in a while that I felt I could connect to on the commentary of our crumbling evolution in disconnection and ignorance.

3. I Want Your Love

As I was branching out from the first album Trevor Something Does Not Exist. The album Bots Don't Cry was the second album I decided to venture into to find what other easy vibe songs I could add to my music library.

I Want Your Love was a song that had me within the first couple of notes, it has a whimsical feel among the techno notes. The usual techno tone and echoed vocals are prominent in this album, but this song feels happier then his usual songs about love.

Trevor has done songs that are on the topic of love and relationships, but it's usually reckless love or explicit desires, this was one that just a catchy love song about losing yourself in love. He's reciprocating to this girl that they both share affections for each other, they are on the same page, so why not take a chance and give into that feeling of love.

4. Your Eyes

The main reason I love this anonymous artist is because of the way he creates songs that provide the comfort for realizing someone has changed. Your Eyes is the song I have found off of the Ultraparanoia album that emotes what it feels like to watch someone deteriorate and see how they have changed in a way that might not be salvaged.

The intro piano notes makes the ambiance of the song have a soft and somber way of showing this will be a sad song. This is the spot-on song about what it's like to watch someone become altered and plea to them to see what is trying to destroy them. I can relate to this song as I have been that person who pleaded to their loved ones to see what is destroying them. We've had those situations where can just see in their eyes that the fire is gone, to see their eyes begin to go from vibrant to vacant.

It's a song to relate to in the moments we want so much to help someone. This singer emulates with a soft voice to vocalize and empathize what it's like to watch someone we love begin to falter.

5. Infatuation

Sometimes we can't quite explain the desire we have for someone or pinpoint why we are entranced by them. When I heard this song the first time, this was a song that had me closing my eyes and swaying to the synth-pop sound. I enjoy the moment that I listen to this song a moment to have the scenario to believe I was the woman he was fascinated with.

It's a song about desire but it's not explicitly specific on what he finds desirable about the girl he is infatuated with. We just know he's going to take action and get this girl that he just can't shake from his thoughts.

As I went to listen to this song again, I happen to notice that this is a rare song that doesn't have many lyrics and the instrumental synth-pop sound primarily carries this song. The repetition of the lyrics in the chorus and the frames is still chilling to listen to.

This is the song that automatically makes me feel I'm in a busy night club from the fast techno intro. The ambiance of the song really does feel like this is something you'd hear in a night club from the tone and lyrics.

6. Stay

I just mentioned in Infatuation, provocative content is prominent in some of the songs that Trevor Something does. Infatuation was the desire for a woman and going to act on it, Into Your Heart was a sensitive song about a one night stand.

Stay would be that song that is a combination of Infatuation and Into Your Heart. This one just feels sensual despite the explicit descriptions, but the explicit descriptions doesn't have a misogynistic tone or too vulgar. It's a consensual and sexually balanced song for both people to lose themselves to lust. This could be interpreted as one night stand or a regular reckless sex deal for a friends with benefits.

I wanted to end this list with my favorite. The way this song is sung in a sultry voice, the muffled beats that almost feels that you can see this steamy story unfold. It's almost a soft version of You Shook Me All Night Long by AC/DC. It's a song about reckless desires that the singer can't get enough of. It explains that mix of emotions of wanting this girl to just remain a few moments more.

It's a song that Prince would approve of.

This is an artist that has been an underrated singer with a steady growing audience every day. This might just be the artist that was missing from your music library.

If you would like to see more of my article work on covering various musicians, feel free to read my other articles to see what peaks your interests on what other music you'd like learn more about to grow your music library.

Thank you for reading and enjoy the musical jams.

list
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.